Roadside wildflowers

Flore du bord des routes

Roadside wildflowers

English version above the pictures 

Last Saturday I went for a 7 km  walk .in the nature( 4,35 miles)

If I had to relate all of the interesting things I saw , I would need many pages.. I will relate only the amazing moment I lived when I walked on a small road just at the limit of Amiens . This windind road goes down in a valley and at  a place there is no house .At the  side of the road , a lot of wild flowers .

 I was amazed , this becomes so scarce nowadays . But I was also tortured because I knew in the past all of those  flowers / And I remained dumb . I was in the situartion of meeting someone that you knew very well in the past and you are unable to recall his name .

I went back the day after , Monday , with a book and I stayed there under the sun to find again the name of all of the beauties : St John’s wort, Common ragwort, wild Carrot, mugwort, wild marjoram, Bladder Campion, and various species of grass . It was an enchantment. I was not alone on the road but with a beautiful company of old friends.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

A winding road in a steep slope . une route sinueuse en pente forte

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

roadside wildflowers . Fleurs du bord des routes

Samedi dernier j’ai fait une marche de 7 km dans la nature  .
Si je devais raconter toutes les choses intéressantes que j’ai vues, il me faudrait beaucoup de pages. Je vais rapporter seulement le moment extraordinaire que j’ ai vécu quand je marchais sur une petite route juste à la limite d’Amiens. Cette route sinueuse descend dans une vallée et à un endroit il n’y a plus de maison et sur le côté de la route, beaucoup de fleurs sauvages.

Je fus étonné, cela devient si rare de nos jours. Mais ‘étais aussi torturé parce que je connaissais bien dans le passé toutes ces fleurs. Et je suis resté muet. J’étais dans le situation de rencontrer quelqu’un que vous connaissiez très bien dans le passé et d’être incapable de se rappeler son nom.

Je suis retourné le lendemain, Lundi, avec un livre et je suis resté là sous le soleil pour retrouver le nom de toutes ces beautés: le millepertuis, le  séneçon jacobée, la carotte sauvage, l’armoise, la marjolaine sauvage, la silène enflée, et divers espèces de graminées . Ce fut un enchantement. Je n’étais pas seul sur la route, mais avec une belle compagnie de vieux amis.

And a bit further on a bridge above a railway, I was in astonishment to see a beautiful cluster of flowers at the end of a branch . I looked closer, it was a little shrub that rooted between the stones of the bridge . This already had been cut but the plant resisted and despite the hard and dry conditions was surviving  and in bloom  ! It was a Butterfly- bush ( Buddleia).
 And it was only the beginnning of my discoveries . The walk  lasted 3h and half at the total

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The bridge on the railway le pont sur la voie ferrée

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The butterfly-bush on the bridge  L ‘ arbre à papillons sur le pont.

Et un peu plus loin sur un pont au-dessus d’une voie ferrée. Je fus  étonné de voir une belle grappe de fleurs à l’extrémité d’une branche. Je regardais de plus près: c’était un petit arbuste qui était enraciné entre les pierres du pont. Cela avait déjà été coupé, mais la plante résistait et malgré les conditions difficiles et sèches survivait et était en fleurs!               C’ était un « arbre à papillons «  (Buddleia)
Et c’ était seulement le début de mes découvertes . la promenade dura 3het demi

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Roadside wildflowers

  1. I’ve often wondered what those flowers are. They are beautiful yet despite living a hard live on the side of the road, besides a bridge, along the footpath etc…

  2. Heartafire says:

    This is lovely, I adore wild flowers! They are so sturdy and free! 🙂 ❤

    • Plant species are grouped according to environmental factors .They speak to us and inform us …. and have a discreet beauty

      • Heartafire says:

        Very much so. Wildflowers tell us they are strong and adaptable and find their home even in the most uninhabitable places. Lovely photos. Love holly ❤

  3. ruth7933 says:

    Oh what a wonderful walk Michel and Mother Nature provides us with such beauty and comfort.

  4. puffpop says:

    This is a lovely writing. I have always thought that “weeds” are just wildflowers that are growing where we don’t want them to grow. Any with your love for the beauty of creation, the design and the variety, you will never be bored.

    Flowers give us so much joy. I often wonder when I walk and see the trees and also the variety of leaves on all plants. How drab it would be if there were no trees and leaves of all sorts give us nourishment and beauty.

  5. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Thanks, MIchel. I love roads like that. As a teen in my new car, I drove through the Redwood forestry roads. It was beautiful. There is a famous Cyrus’s tree near Carmel, Ca. Growing out of a bolder–it has been photographed and painted many times. One counselor told us at a church camp that some of the redwoods were over 2000 years old. I guess that is true.

    Loved the bridge. When I was transferred from California to the Mid-West I saw many old bridges–they were beautiuful–so artistic and so much history.

  6. cocosangel says:

    Just taking a walk on that road with the beautiful scene is awesome. Just relaxing there is wonderful.

  7. Wild flowers are the gift of God to those who see ❤

  8. Tree says:

    Pretty flowers! It’s nice to have something pretty to look at while walking. I think you picked a good route. 🙂

  9. blb1 says:

    What a wonderful post! You are so fortunate your back does not keep you from a long walk. I don’t recall you mentioning the sound of birds but I bet there were some. 🙂

  10. jstnotherday says:

    An enchantment indeed! … the fact that you returned the next day!
    What an enchanted life you lead.

    and wow! my goodness! I wish that I could walk for 3 and 1/2 hours. I have always loved to roam. I am surprised after all the tiring work of the garden that you were also able to go walking. Did you roam alone? I loved roaming on my own, just discovering whatever there was to discover, as you have done. I would still do it if I could, and if there were places for me to roam to. 🙂
    I love the photo overlooking the railroad tracks.

    I have been treated to the discovery of pretty purple wildflowers that are growing at the edge of my woods and visible as I sit on my porch/balcony.
    I tossed wildflower seeds off my balcony at the beginning of spring and hope to think maybe it is these that took root. 🙂

    • Yes , Lynn I am roaming on my own because i stop to observe on a frequent basis and a true walker would not like to walk with me . besides my step is slow !
      In the post above I relate only the beginning of my walk . I made a lot of discoveries relative to the history, the geography .without speaking of the conversation with people that i was encountering. 🙂

  11. I enjoy how you see those wildflowers as “old friends.” It is a lot of fun to look up their official names in a book, but one can also love and study them even without the botanical names…especially those wild ones that seem to grow without any help from us. As Gerard de Nerval said: “Every flower is a soul, blossoming in nature.”

  12. guestbrief says:

    Those names are old friends! To see so many in one place, what a blessing! the Butterfly bush, especially, is very beautiful. I like the old bridge also, so interesting. Thank you for sharing your walk with us! ❤

  13. What a wonderful walk, Michel! Thank you for taking us along with you! 🙂

    Wildflowers are my ABSOLUTE favorite flowers! And it’s fun to learn their names so we can talk to them personally! 🙂 (Yes, I talk to plants and trees and flowers, etc! 🙂 )

    Your photos are beautiful!
    Did you see any butterflies or bees?
    They are thick on the wildflowers here!

    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…Keep on walking! 🙂

  14. Zakiah says:

    Love to discover beauties like flowers on my walks too. They make walking a pleasure, no doubt.

  15. suester7 says:

    All beings and things are interesting, yes?

    What a lovely blog post, and I like how you liken flowers and plants to friends.

    May your walks continue to be interesting, and may you make more wonderful discoveries.

    • I am happily surprised, Suzy, you remember my xanga motto “.All beings and things are interesting”
      Yes it was only the begonning of this walk which has been especially rich in discoveries .

  16. mcbery says:

    Some of those grow here too. Are the wild carrots called ‘Queen Anne’s Lace’ too? That’s what we call them. A long walk is good for the soul! Blessings Michel.

  17. Isabel Capillas says:

    Flowers are always a visual feast. Thank you for sharing, Uncle Michel.

  18. Cheri Herald says:

    Just beautiful! Thank you for sharing, my friend, I have been enjoying the mountain wildflowers here on my visit to Idaho. I will have to look up the names, too. Lovely.

  19. mimiwi2013 says:

    It is such fun to walk outside of populated areas and see nature’s true beauty—wildflowers. I cannot walk far anymore, but enjoy riding in the car and seeing all the wildflowers next to the road. When I lived in Arizona—and then later on when visiting my family there—the desert explodes with color in the month of March. Sometimes a lot, sometimes not so much, depending on how much rain came during the winter. Where you live, and also here in Wisconsin, we are used to all the wildflowers. But to see the dry desert fill with blooms for a short while, reminds me of God’s beautiful creation. Creating beautiful color where there normally is none.
    In my own garden, some wild violets have taken root. I look forward to seeing their tiny purple flowers every spring, and they make a nice ground cover for the larger plants and shrubs.

    • We think the same , Nancy; we love the beauties of the creation.
      Especially in a dry desert when all of a sudden after some rains the vegetal cover explodes in bloom..
      And yes the little violets colonise my lawn too, with the crocus ;

  20. Fauquet Carole says:

    Et bien on peut dire que ton post a du succès.C’est bien toi de t’extasier devant ce que j’aurai pu appeler des mauvaises herbes……3 heures de marche ,n’est ce pas un peu trop……Enfin la nature rien de tel pour être bien. Nous venons de faire une bonne ballade attelée avec rastau et les chiens .Bonne soirée à vous tous je vous embrasse Carole

  21. L. Gail says:

    Beautiful…especially the roadside flowers picture. Queen Anne’s lace is blooming here too. My husband calls it “chigger flowers” because of the little red bugs on it. I left you a pic of my butterfly bush on your Facebook update.

  22. cerwindoris says:

    I love roadside flowers.

  23. A wonderful way to spend an afternoon!

  24. L. Marie says:

    A wonderful discovery, Michel. I love finding wildflowers. Most of the time, I don’t know their names.

  25. What a wonderful and lovely post. I love these types discoveries. I don’t usually know the flower or bird names but I love watching/seeing them. Hugs.

  26. julie essex says:

    When traveling on a train I am always amazed about the flowers that grow in the strangest of places. There are town councils here that have started to plant wildflowers along the road side so this time of the year it makes for a very colourful show

    • Yvonne says:

      That reminds me of the joy of travelling in a Regional train in Italy in the spring. The wild poppies along the tracks are such a pretyy surprise.

  27. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie! How beautiful! I’m impressed you took time to re-identify them and you got a good walk at the same time! Our Highway systems also plant wildflowers in the medians! ilym

  28. Yvonne says:

    I’m so impressed that you go on nice long rambles, and enjoy the simple pleasure of seeing wild flowers growing. Nature is generous, if we don’t interfere. ❤

  29. Cath Singapore Girl says:

    Your learning attitude inspires me! This is something my people lack. Everything is boring because we have chosen to be bored.

  30. Michel, I enjoyed this post very much! It reminded me of one you did on Xanga too . You were sitting on the ground with your book in your lap, surrounded by lots of wild plants and flowers. I enjoyed that post too!

  31. You are right Ellen . I always loved wild plants or vegetables of the garden. . But for the wild plants there are so many species ! And my memory has to fight to remember the names and their properties .;
    Thanks to remember an old Xanga post.

  32. Marion says:

    Beautiful flowers and photos, Michel!! You are right, many lovely plants grow along railway lines, and the most out of the way places. 🙂

  33. aktcornelio says:

    Nature seems to pop up everywhere! Just a reminder to everyone that beauty can be found anywhere… even in between rail tracks. 🙂

  34. Jackie says:

    Thank you for taking us along on your walk. It’s a wise and contented person who finds beauty in the everyday things in life.

  35. jstnotherday says:

    Hi Michel, I was recently reading about Mont St. Michel, off the coast of Normandy, and wondering if you’ve ever visited? 🙂

  36. neilc693 says:

    Unfortunately my neighborhood is in the middle of the city and I don’t have a vehicle to go farther and enjoy such strolls. Nature still does have a way of showing up, though, in spite of all the manmade planning. I’ve found a little area where mullein https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Verbascum_thapsus has established itself. At first I thought they were just the entirely common lamb’s ears https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stachys_byzantina escaped from domestic gardens, but then the next season they made those dramatic flower stalks. Now I like to see them still growing in place, so I know what you mean when you call the plants “friends.” 🙂

    • I am glad Neil we can share our discoveries . Verbascum Thapsus called mullein in English is called molène in Frebch . it ia s wonderful specie. .
      Those wild flowers are comanion on our way in life.

Leave a Reply

