The chair/Compassion for Nice

English version below the picture

La chaise

Le vaillant jardinier remue le sol encore et encore,
Boit la sueur salée qui coule de son visage.
Ses jambes deviennent faibles
Son dos  hurle de douleur
Le souffle est court.

Laissant tomber la fourche, l’homme épuisé
S’effondre sur une chaise  accueillante, non loin.
Il sent son être disparaître
son esprit errant exhale  une prière
sans mot.

Peu de temps après la douleur disparaît
Le jardinier se lève et court à ses outils
Le travail recommence, le courage est de retour.
Travaille, Homme. On n’a rien sans peine.
Continue .

L’homme continue de la même façon
une sorte de va et vient
De la fourche à la chaise et vice-versa
pas rapide mais tenace
Jusqu’à la fin.
.
Michel Fauquet
12 Juillet 2016

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

La chaise me suit dns le jardin. The chair follows me in the garden  July 2016

The chair

The  valiant gardener digs the ground again and again
Drinks  the salted sweat flowing from his  face .
His  legs become weak .
His sore back is screaming
The breath is  short.

Letting  fall the fork  the exhausted man
collapses in  a welcoming chair, nearby.
He feels  his being disappearing
his  wandering mind exhales a prayer
without word.

Shortly after  the pain goes away
The gardener stands  up and runs to his tools
The work starts again , the courage is back.
Do work, Man . We have nothing without pain.
Go on.

The man continues on the same way,
a kind of stop and go .
From the fork to the chair and vice versa
Not speedy but tenacious
Until the end..
                                                Michel Fauquet
                                                    July 12 2016


_____________________________Up  Date July 15th  after the massacre of Nice yesterday July 14

dlpauo82562

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to The chair/Compassion for Nice

  1. mlbncsga says:

    what a wonderful poem Mornin Glorie! Just wonderful!!! ilym

  2. blb1 says:

    I can certainly relate to ‘the chair’. It is exactly like the one I use when it is time to dead head the Datura. I carried a chair to daughter’s so that I can sit to pull nut grass. Of course it is too hot to work at daughter’s right now.

  3. blb1 says:

    Oh I checked just now I got the linking correct now. 🙂 Slow learner. lol

  4. L. Marie says:

    A lovely poem, Michel. I’m glad you have a chair to rest upon in the garden. What a peaceful spot.

  5. Humor_Me_Now says:

    My wife bought me a special chair to aid my hurting back. It helps. It makes sitting in it my main activity some days.

    Loved your poem, Michel. Really nice.

    Blesssings

    Frank

    • Norma knows that chair regenerates your failing energy, Frank and allows you to resource yourself ..Besides when there is a table aside with a cup of coffee, it is the top! 🙂

  6. puffpop says:

    When I read this, I could feel your pain. I don’t know if I ever read “pain” so eloquently explained… But for the greater good, after you rest a spell in that welcoming chair, you return to tilling the soil. It’s the curse that God put on Adam that he would have to sweat to gain the fruits of the earth. But…in the winter when you taste those wonderful vegetables and the delicious jams and jellies (Janine also toils) it seems to be worth it. If you were wealthy and lazy, the taste of the freshly preserved fruits and vegetables would not be the same. God provides the material and man does the work…
    Do you have a cup of tea or a sip of wine when you sit in that chair?

    • Thanks for this beautiful comment, Françoise .
      About sipping when I sit on the chait, janine sometimes brings to me a glass of water . A fresh water is so good ! 🙂

  7. judyrutrider says:

    The chair in my garden goes largely unused. I work until it becomes too hot to continue and then go inside to read for a spell. “Read” in this context would more accurately be “nap” but since a few pages are tuned before succumbing to the charms of napping, we will use the term “read”.

  8. I greatly admire gardeners; I’ve done gardening but never looked after one consistently for a whole season, much less year after year.

    I have spent the last few months repairing the siding on my house and painting the entire exterior. About once every hour or two, I go inside and get a cold drink and sit on my kitchen chair enjoying the air conditioning. Then I go back outside and start dripping again.

  9. Comme j’ai déjà atteint l’age biblique de soixante-dix ans, je comprends bien cette danse de chaise. Mais comme vous avez si bien dit, “on n’a rien sans peine”. Un poème de verité (hélas!) très amusant. 🙂

  10. Tree says:

    Good place to rest. It’s been so hot lately that I only garden for a few minutes, removing the worst of the weeds, before I go back inside to the air conditioner. My plants are sort of surviving. 🙂

  11. attatudy says:

    Love the poem Michel. 🙂 ibuprofen before you start helps.

  12. I love the poem. I wish I spoke French and could read it in the original language. You are a consummate gardener, chair and all! Much love and God bless you! -Caroline :).

  13. jstnotherday says:

    I love the chair, sitting in such a sanctuary. What a wonderful place to regain strength to resume activity. 🙂
    ” his wandering mind exhales a prayer without word”
    I love that.

  14. A gardener’s work is never done. But at the end of the day, you can look back at the things you accomplished and feel proud.

  15. I love when you write poems, Michel! This one is beautiful and filled with word pictures and emotions!
    You are blessed to have your garden and your chair! And your garden and chair are blessed to have you! The three of you combine to be a sweet meditation to God!
    Do you wear your hat when you sit in your chair in your garden?
    HUGS and ❤ !!! 🙂

    • Your words are precious, .
      About the hat I avoid it when itis hot because I had a nasty button ( cancerous beginning ) removed by a surgeon last year at my forehead .

  16. Heartafire says:

    A beautiful metaphor of life Michel, so wonderfully translated, perfection! Much love ❤

  17. iampeacenow says:

    What a lovely spot to rest and recover before you continue on. Your words are lovely and paint a vivid picture. This reminds me of my mother who loves her flower garden greatly.
    Peace and love,
    Jane

  18. cocosangel says:

    Oh Michel, I hope you are feeling better now. Lovely photo.
    Take care ❤

  19. I love this poem.
    My parents have chairs like this near the barn–they sit and love on the animals, rest, etc.
    Love, Elizabeth

  20. julie essex says:

    A lovely poem Michel , the gardener does need to take a rest , I just hope that you are able to rest in the sunshine. What a great Tour of France it has been for the British but today it was madness but Froome did show great spirit

  21. Winifred Louise Senty says:

    As usual, my favorite poet writes another good one….my sweet Michel, thank you again. Prayers tonight for Nice, France and the many people who died on the streets there today. My God hold them in the palm of His hand….

  22. Larry says:

    Very well-written, Michel! Hail the chair especially when one needs a rest from work!

  23. Marion says:

    I love the way you express yourself, Michel! Chairs are items of furniture we just can’t do without – vitally important!

  24. Fauquet Carole says:

    Très joli poème .Comme quoi une chaise peut être source d’inspiration.Bonne journée à vous deux.on vous embrasse
    Carole

  25. suester7 says:

    What a lovely, poem, Michel!

    It’s also a metaphor for life, isn’t it? Whatever happens, we continue on. We work, and then we rest, and then we return to work.

    On a different note, I’m shocked to read about what happened in Nice today. My heart is with your country and the victims and their families of this terror attack.

    Stay safe.

  26. ruth7933 says:

    My heart weeps of your country and prayer sent to all. Love the poem and this chair look like a lovely place to sit and relax.

  27. Zakiah says:

    An endearing poem Michel. Take care of yourself.
    So deeply saddened by the massacre in Nice! Who would have thought that in a beautiful and lovely place such a tragedy might occur. praying for healing for the people of Nice and all of France.

  28. jstnotherday says:

    Tragedy upon tragedy in France… prayers that the Lord’s blessings will be able to reach and protect the people of France. The whole world is in need.

  29. L. Gail says:

    Maybe I need a chair ! (love the poem)
    Praying for France….and all nations who have been hurt by these terrible people.

  30. I am very sad for what has happened in France.

  31. My heart is very heavy for Nice.
    I send my love and prayers.
    (((HUGS)))

  32. Cath Singapore Girl says:

    Every attack feels closer to home. May the church of France arise in prayer!

Leave a Reply

