Rehearsals of tenors around a bottle

 

Rehearsals of tenors  around a bottle
Répétition  de ténors autour d ‘une bouteille

English version below the pictures

 

Vendredi prochain comme chaque semaine je réunis les tenors du choeur où je chante pour travailler les morceaux que nous chantons avec le chœur complet . L’ habitude est de boire une bouteille de bon vin . Cela rend les voix plus claires et réchauffe l’ ambiance. Chacun apporte sa bouteille à tour de rôle. Vendredi prochain j’ apporte une bouteille de vin de Provence nommé Viognier.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Next Friday like  most of the weeks, I gather at home the tenors of the choir where I sing to work the musical pieces we sing with the complete choir . The habit is to have a bottle of good wine. This makes the voices clearer and creates also a warm ambiance . Everyone brings a bottle in turn. Next Friday I bring a bottle of wine of Provence (South of france ), named Viognier .

Ce vin est bien vivant dans ma mémoire . En Juin 1959 a soldat français à l’ entraînement ( ‘’était moi) marchait dans les creux et les bosses de cette terre couverte de petits arbres et de buissons : les garrigues de Provence au nord de Nîmes . Il avait à marcher en ligne droite hors des chemins , à la boussole en portant un lourd sac à dos . Il faisait très chaud et le soleil n ‘ avait aucune miséricorde . La terre de la soif

garrigues
Les garrigues

This wine is for me alive memory . In June 1959 a French soldier in training ( it was me ) walked over the up and downs of this land covered of small trees and bushes shown on the picture above : the garrigues of Provence at the north of Nîmes . . He had to walk on a straightline through those garrigues out of the lanes with the help of a compass , bearing a heavy backpack . It was hot and the sun had not any mercy . Thirsty land !

Enfin un petit village nommé Cabrières apparut . Il fut vraiment une bénédiction car il y avait un café . Je bus là le plus délicieux et le plus rafraîchissant vin blanc que je n ‘ avais jamais bu . Le vin venait d ‘ une coopérative viticole située dans un village voisin Lédenon

cabrières
Cabrières in Provence (photo M.Fauquet 2006)

At last a small village called Cabrières appeared . It was a blessing because there was a cafe . I drank there the most delicious and refreshing white wine I had ever drunk . The wine came from a vinery located in a nearby village , Ledenon

Je n’ avais jamais oublié ce vin ,il était gravé  dans ma mémoire . En 2006 nous sommes allés en Provence et la première chose que nous fîmes était de retrouver la coopérative de Lédenon . On la trouva . C’ était toujours le même vin ,le même goût, la même fraîcheur et quend je l’ ai bu, 47 ans après j’ ai senti un courant de jeunesse dans mes veines . Depuis lors c’ est mon cousin René qui nous rapporte quelques bouteilles de Viognier.  Inutile de dire que je ne manquerai pas Vendredi prochain  de raconter à mes collègues ténors mes souvenirs liés à ce vin !
dégustation
At the vinery of Ledenon A la coopérative de Lédenon   Photo 2006 Janine Fauquet

I had never forgotten this wine . It was carved in my memory . In 2006 we went to Provence , the first thing I did was to find the vinery of Ledenon . And I found it ! It still was the same wine , the same taste , the same freshness and when I drank it 47 years later I felt a stream of youth flowing in my veins ! Since then this is my cousin René who brings back us some bottles of Viognier and useless to say I won’t miss to relate  next Friday to my colleagues tenors the memories linked to this magic wine .

 

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Rehearsals of tenors around a bottle

  1. blb1 says:

    It would be fun to listen to you rehearse, before and after wine. 🙂 When I was in a choir we would suck on a lemon to soothe our throats. 🙂 btw I wrote on xanga Sunday.http://blb.xanga.com/? I did send you an email.

  2. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Michel!!! That is a beautiful story.

    Blessings

    Frank

  3. judyrutrider says:

    Horses, cats, and now wine! You grow dearer to my heart with each post.

  4. Heartafire says:

    This is a beautiful piece of nostalgia, have a great time with the choir…Cheers!

  5. mlbncsga says:

    My daughter Sarah sells wine for a company called the Country Vintner, I believe she sells this very wine and shared some with us at Christmas…it is amazing…enjoy your rehearsal and the vino! ilym

  6. OH!!! I wish I could hear you tenors sing!!! 🙂 I bet you make beautiful music!
    How wonderful that you share wine before you sing! What a wonderful time it must be!

    I loved hearing the story about you as a soldier and the magic white wine you found to refresh yourself! I’m so glad you found the same wine again and can enjoy it still! 🙂

    Did you do anything special on your birthday over the weekend?!

    I hope you had a beautiful day with precious memories made!
    ❤ and Birthday-HUGS (a few days late, but with much love!) and Regular-HUGS!!! 🙂

  7. jstnotherday says:

    I love the photo of you. Sitting in this winery cafe?
    How wonderful it is to visit days of youth. 🙂

    • At a winery there is always a room often a cellar where you can taste the wine before to buy a few bottles. And you can visit many wineries but not in a row!!!! 🙂 🙂

  8. Yvonne says:

    It’s wonderful that the wine still tastes as it did all those years ago, Michel. Happy sipping, happy singing.

  9. pacificnorthwestgranny says:

    What lovely memories you have with this bottle of wine. Enjoy your tenor practice and a lovely glass of wine.

  10. I enjoyed the story. I’ll have to see if that wine is available here.

  11. PS…I meant to ask in my earlier comment. What songs did you practice with the tenors?

  12. mcbery says:

    Would love to hear your people sing. I didn’t know wine makes the voices clearer. I love to learn new things. 🙂

  13. puffpop says:

    What a great idea. You French know how to celebrate life. Wine and singing are the perfect combination!

  14. cocosangel says:

    Wow that is some very memories. 🙂
    Hope you have fun with the tenors.

  15. What a wonderful post and story. I love when something brings back great memories. I’d love to hear y’all sing. Do you ever video it?

  16. What a wonderful story! I prefer red wine, but I do think that white wine is more refreshing in hot weather. I can just imagine how much you enjoyed that cold glass of wine after carrying that pack over the hills! To taste it again so many years later must have been a true joy! I hope the other tenors enjoyed the wine and the story!

  17. I love your stories, Michel. They show an appreciation for all the little aspects of life, and that is very inspiring to me.

    How incredible to get to find that winery, so many years later, and relive the experience of that day, the agony and pleasure! I hope you get a picture with the tenors, and can share that with us, too.

  18. Marion says:

    What a wonderful memory, Michel!! 🙂 I can just picture you trudging over those plains, then finding this little “oasis”. The wine would have been something sent from heaven!! So glad you found this place again and the wine is still exactly the same as you remember it. Nothing like a good wine! ❤

  19. Cheri Herald says:

    What a wonderful way to spend your weekly get-togethers with your comrades. These little moments are what add up to a more pleasant life. Enjoy! And, thanks for sharing. 🙂

  20. Gill McGrath says:

    Wonderful story and I am sure wonderful singing. Thank you for this lovely story. I can almost hear the choir ❤ love

  21. marica0701 says:

    That bottle of wine looks good 🙂 And I love your memories!

    Tomorrow is Palm Sunday. Have a blessed Holy Week!

  22. Peggy says:

    It sounds like something we would ALL enjoy tasting! 🙂

  23. Connie T says:

    I would sing good too if I had a bottle of wine. I bet you sound great. I probably don’t.

  24. Tribo, OCarm says:

    Since I read Peter Mayle’s A Year In Provence, I always dream of going there someday… 😀 And now you make it sound even more enticing…

  25. Wine makes everything better. 🙂

  26. Isabel Capillas says:

    Beautiful memories of your youth! Cheers!

  27. Zakiah says:

    Magnifique, Michel! I loved reading this story. Wonderful. I wonder if we can get this wine her. I want to present it to my daughter and son who like to drink good wines. I might taste it too. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful part of your life.
    Love, ❤ ❤
    Zakiah.

  28. L. Gail says:

    I enjoy your story about the wine. So glad you found it. It will make you sing !

  29. Cath aka Singapore Girl says:

    Very nostalgic indeed! I think people love to hear beautiful stories like this. 🙂 Wow… I can’t imagine life as a soldier in the 1950s!

Leave a Reply

