Today is Michaelmas

Aujourd’hui, c ‘ est la Saint-Michel
Today is Michaelmas

English version below the video.

Aujourd’hui nous célébrons les archanges Michel et aussi Raphaël et Gabriel . C ‘ est donc ma fête mais qui suis-je ^pour me comparer à ce bras armé de Dieu?
Pour célébrer j’offre dans cette entrée un peu de musique dans mon jardin. La vidéo est de 2009 mais la musique , chant de l’ âme, ne vieillit pas .
En France la Saint Michel est très célébrée deuis le Moyen Age ( le Mont St Michel) et depuis Jeanne d’Arc qui était inspiré par lui . On parle aussi de l’ été de la St Michel mais dans beaucoup de pays on parle de l’ été indien
Entre vous et moi, je préfère parler de l’été de la Saint-Michel!  🙂
Merci pour votre pensée .

Today we celebrate the archangel Michael and also Raphael and Gabriel . So it is my Day but  who am I when I compare to this warrior of God ?
To celebrate I offer in this entry some music in my garden  . The video is from 2009 but music is the song of the soul and does not age .
In France Michaelmas is well known by all  since the Middle Age (Mount St Michael) and  since Joan of Arc who was inspired by him . People even speak also of  St Michael ‘s summer but in many countries  they say “Indian summer “.
Between you and me , I prefer Michaelmas’ s summer!!   🙂
Thanks for your special wishes.

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Today is Michaelmas

  1. blb1 says:

    Good Morning Michel thank you for the very nice music to start my day. We are still in summer here and will be for at least another week. Growing up I better remember Indian summers. 🙂

  2. sunsetdragon says:

    Hello Michel and Ty for this catchy little tune from your garden. How lovely to share this same with the archangel Michael. I like the words the song of the soul and does not age. I do not believe anything of the soul ever ages.
    Have a wonderful rest of the week.

  3. cheezlouise says:

    Happy feast day, Michel! The archangels remind us of God’s constant care. Bon fete, mon ami!

  4. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Good Morning, Michel What a nice treat this morning to see and hear you play the flute. Lovely and peaceful.

    blessings

    frank

  5. Lyne's View says:

    Lovely! “In the depths of my soul there is A wordless song A song that lives in the seed of my heart.” (pats heart, and points to you)

  6. weggieboy says:

    Only 12°C here this morning. Autumn arrived on the first day of the season, and seems intent on hanging on till first snow! Thedrefore, your little sunny “concert” was a wonderful way to warm up this chilly morning! Lovely! And Happy Name Day (?) and Michaelmas! I played trombone as a child, so I’m afraid my morning concert would be something grotesquely loud, Wagner perhaps, though Berlioz would be suitable since he also managed to hit levels of wretched excess. (I have a trombonist’s love of that wretched excess, I confess, and the best version of your national anthem, sung by Placido Domingo, is the Berlioz version!)

    • I am glad to know you are a musician playing trombon . One of my grandson Antoine is playing this instrument.
      I always admired the sound of this instrument . One of my prefered musical pieces is the Tannahauser Overture by Wagner . Here is a video : https://youtu.be/KTM7E4-DN0o
      Enjoy . The trombons are majestic
      I agree with you for the “Marseillaise ” by Berlioz.

  7. whyzat says:

    Very nice flute playing, Michel. The significance of saints and angels eludes me, but I guess they are as good an excuse for a party as anything else! Happy day!

  8. mlbncsga says:

    Happy Michaelmas Mornin Glorie! I had not heard that indian summer was also called Michaelmas summer, I like that very much! I also enjoyed watching you play the flute in your very peaceful garden, it was extra special for me since I also played the flute! As for who are you when compared to the warrior of God? You may not be as famous as the archangel Michael but I think you are indeed a Warrior of God! ILYM

    Marsha

  9. guestbrief says:

    lovely music, happy celebration! Did you realize that your name means “Who is like the Lord God?” 🙂 lovely ❤

  10. mimiwi2013 says:

    How well you are teaching the birds a new song to sing! Happy Michaelmas! How nice they named a day especially for you!!! Ha-ha! Hugs and ❤ <3, Nancy

  11. Happy Michaelmas, Michel!!! 🙂
    Wow, you have your own day…a day named after you!!! 😉
    Well, I think you are an angel from God here on the earth to brighten my life and share hope, peace, and love! May this day be a beautiful day for you, Michel! 🙂
    Thank you for playing the flute in your garden! I love the flute!
    What will you do in celebration today?!
    HUGS and ❤ !!! 🙂

    • “Come, ye Sons of Art, come away
      Come, come, ye Sons of Art
      Come, come away,
      Tune all your voices and instruments play
      To celebrate this triumphant day.”…..
      Frank Purcell wrote this in 1694 for a …birthday of the queen Mary . I sang this song a few years ago like a tenor . I can put a link if you want, Carolyn. and if you would enjoy the song. After all, you are a queen. 🙂

  12. Zakiah says:

    Happy Day dear Michel. We used to have ten days of Michaelmas holidays at the convent where I studied. You are so talented, and play the flute so well. Good lungs! Saadia our daughter was a good flutist all through school, but once she joined college she got too busy and stopped playing.
    Love, ❤
    Zakiah.

  13. jstnotherday says:

    How lovely to hear see and hear you playing the flute. The piper under the apple tree. So enjoyable. 🙂
    My daughter has a flute but she hasn’t played since leaving high school… 10 years ago.

    I can’t imagine why you prefer ‘Michaelmas summer’. 😉

  14. Peggy says:

    soothing music in a peaceful garden ~ such bliss! Our granddaughter plays the flute ~

  15. nannyfountain says:

    Joyful all around. Your wonderful flute, the wonder of the garden and the wonder of GOD ❤

  16. Wishing you a joyous Michaelmas! Thank you for sharing your beautiful music!

  17. suester7 says:

    Hello Michel!

    Never occurred to me you were named after the archangel Michael. It’s a lovely name.

    Enjoy what remains of summer! (Here in Singapore, we are experiencing great smog, brought about by forest fires from Indinesia. It’s been quite some time since we last saw blue skies and breathed in clean air, which I’m now beginning to realize is priceless.)

  18. Yvonne says:

    What a splendid surprise to see you in musical action, in your lovely garden. Thank you for the nice treat, Michel. Happy Name Day.

  19. julie essex says:

    Happy feast day Michel , your garden must be enjoying this lovely Indian summer we are having at the moment

  20. Congratulations on being named after the great archangel! Your garden looks lovely, especially the apples. I hope you had a wonderful celebration of your holiday.

  21. Tree says:

    Ah, thank you for the explanation. I have heard of Michaelmas but didn’t know what it was. We call it Indian summer here, but it hasn’t gotten really cold yet. Indian summer is when there is a frost, but it gets warm afterwards. Otherwise it is just a warm fall.

  22. Larry says:

    Happy Michaelmas to you, Michel! You do indeed play the flute beautifully!

    Best regards,

  23. cocosangel says:

    I am so sorry that had missed your post yesterday. But I am glad I found it.
    You are a amazing player. I loved listening to the tune.
    Yes, here we call it the Indian Summer, but I think Michaelmas summer is more nice.

  24. Yes, Michaelmas Summer. I love that. We are having a Michelmas here in my area of the USA.
    You are very talented and play beautifully. I think the Warrior Angel is pleased. Thank you for the lifting of spirits’ for my day.
    My younger. brother is Michael and our youngest is has a his middle name Michael as he is named after my younger brother. A good strong name that brings me hope for his return. 😉
    Thank you for this lovely post. Hugs, Elizabeth

  25. Cath says:

    Hello dear Michael! You reminded me of these verses from the Bible!

    Psalm 8:4-6
    4 what is man that you are mindful of him,
    and the son of man that you care for him?
    5 Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings
    and crowned him with glory and honor.
    6 You have given him dominion over the works of your hands;
    you have put all things under his feet,

  26. cuteandcurls says:

    Never too late to say Happy Michaelmas to you. Im sorry for not visiting your blog Michel, hope to visit again 😊 music never ever age, keep making more music Michel.

  27. L. Marie says:

    How lovely to hear your music!! And how lovely to know you are a warrior in music and hopefully in prayer. 🙂

  28. erkarts says:

    That was lovely to hear!

Leave a Reply

