Stars of the sky, stars of the earth.

Etoiles du ciel, étoiles de la terre.
Stars of the sky, stars of the earth.
 English version above the picture
At the beginning of the night on February 27 there was a large hole in the clouds towards the South and I saw the stars like I had ever seen the, for long .The stars were very shining and together they formed a sparkling geometric pattern of the constellation. A true show!  What is exceptional in our area in Northern France very cloudy. In the years 1940’s  the sky often was clearer at night. The young child that I was, loved to contemplate the sky at the beginning of the night; This made me aware of the infinity of the Universe and that made me think of God.

 I related this to a friend Marsha Bryant  because I knew she has a keen interest in the stars and their constellations. She posts from time to time sky maps.
 She replied  on the first of March with a wonderful quote :

“Silently, one by one, in the infinite meadows of heaven,
Blossomed the lovely stars, the forget-me-nots of the angels.”
~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow .
 I was delighted with that quote which said exactly what I felt two nights before.
   Two days later I went to the veggie garden to check about it. It was muddy and we cannot work it at this time. So I came back not too much happy when all of sudden in crossing the lawn between the veggie garden and the house  I saw a shining show : all of the wild crocuses and snowdrops were in bloom. I had not seen them at first . I was amazed and I ran at home to get my camera and took a photo .  At watching this patch of numerous flowers narrowly gathered I saw again the stars of the previous night. I told myself after the stars of the sky I was lucky enough to see the stars of the earth!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

snowdrops at the foregtround then wild crocuses Perce-neige et crocus sauvages
Au début de la nuit du 27 février, il y avait un grand trou dans les nuages vers le Sud et j’ai vu les étoiles comme je ne les avais jamais vues. Les étoiles étaient très brillantes et ensemble elles formaient le motif géométrique étincelant de la constellation. Un vrai spectacle!  Ce qui est exceptionnel dans notre région du nord de la France très nuageuse. ..Dans les années 1940 le ciel était souvent plus clair la nuit. Le jeune enfant que j’étais, aimait contempler le ciel en début de nuit. Cela me faisait prendre conscience de l’infini de l Univers et cela me faisait penser à Dieu.
 J’ai raconté ceci à une amie Marsha Bryant parce que je savais qu’elle a un vif intérêt pour les étoiles et leurs constellations. Elle publie de temps en temps des cartes du ciel. Elle a répondu le premier Mars avec une citation merveilleuse: :
«Silencieusement, un par un, dans les prés infinis du ciel,
fleurissent les belles étoiles, les «forget-me-nots « des anges « ( forget-me not : ne m’ oubliez pas sont les myosotis en français )
~ Henry Wadsworth Longfellow.
J’ai été ravi de cette citation qui a dit exactement ce que j’ai ressenti deux nuits auparavant.
Deux jours plus tard, je suis allé au potager pour vérifier son état. Il était boueux et nous ne pouvons pas y travailler en ce moment. Alors je suis revenu pas trop heureux quand soudainement en traversant la pelouse entre le potager et la maison j’ai vu un spectacle brillant: tous les crocus sauvages et perce-neige étaient en fleur. Je ne les avais pas vus en premier lieu. J’ai été étonné et j’ai couru à la maison pour prendre mon appareil photo et a pris une photo. En regardant cette parcelle de nombreuses fleurs étroitement réunies, je revoyais les étoiles de la nuit précédente. Je me suis dit qu’après les étoiles du ciel j’avais eu la chance de voir les étoiles de la terre!
About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Stars of the sky, stars of the earth.

  1. blb1 says:

    That is so lovely Michel. My bluebonnets are blooming and some white iris blooms though I don’t understand why the iris flowers lean like they are too heavy.

    • Hard to answer about your leaning irises, Bonnie. Changes in the climates in your area ? . Are they growing in a shadowy place ?. It seems you are not alone in that situation.

  2. puffpop says:

    What you have described here paints a lovely picture in my mind. You look down and you see beauty. You look up and more beauty. The universe is infinite and wondrous. We are small specks and yet God loves us and counts the hairs on our heads. ” His eye is on the sparrow and I know He watches me.”

    Love,
    votre amie,

    Francoise

  3. L. Gail says:

    A beautiful site to see!

  4. cocosangel says:

    Those stars in the night sky does make you feel calm and assured. I loved the flower buds.

  5. Heartafire says:

    One of your loveliest posts Michel! 🌺

  6. weggieboy says:

    Where I live in the center of the USA, light pollution is low, and one can step out into the dark and see the Milky Way, a reminder that we are a tiny speck circling around a bigger speck at the distant edge of a large speck in a universe so vast we barely can other specks in an unimaginably vast void. It staggers the imagination and is very humbling. It also is very beautiful to see!

    I liked your connection of stars and flowers, Michel!

  7. “It staggers the imagination and is very humbling. It also is very beautiful to see!” This say very well what I feel, Doug.
    And yes I found the same sensation of multitude and beauty with the flowers . But we often pass at the side without seeing them!

  8. OH, such a beautiful post, Michel…of words, photo, and Longfellow! I love that you appreciate nature and you take the time to stop and smell the roses! 🙂

    The amazing sky and the beautiful earth…and we are fortunate to stand in between them and enjoy both!

    I always enjoyed when Marsha alerted us to activity in the night sky! I always made sure I’d go out that night and see what she told us to look for!

    I am fortunate to live in the mountains and at this elevation the sky is always stunning and it seems if I reach up I could catch a star! I love taking my nighttime walks to commune with, look at, the moon and stars!

    The vastness and beauty of the sky make me so happy to be a tiny speck in the universe and to be able to enjoy it! It also puts my problems into perspective!
    HUGS and ❤ 🙂

    • I am so happy, Carolyn , to see you share my feelings about the Universe and to see we . are on the same way of thought..
      Indeed you are fortunate to live in the mountains . Is there a better place to see and admire the stary night?

      • Thank you, Michel!
        Yes! We are so blessed to have such a beautiful world around us…the joy we receive from plants, trees, flowers, gardens, soil, sky, sun, clouds, animals, etc., is so wonderful! A reason to look forward to each day! 🙂

  9. Nancy Stuebs says:

    Living in the city, with lights around, we do not see many stars at night. But when we used to visit my sister’s summer home in the mountains, with it’s very clear skies and high altitude, the night sky was amazing. We have some tulip leaves trying to come up in the flower bed against the south side of the house, but we still have a lot of winter weather ahead of us—-even though the calendar says it will soon be spring. For some reason, we never planted an snowdrops. Now, we are cutting back on all the yard work. It is getting to be too much for Ken, and I cannot help anymore. I pray that Janine is progressing with her healing. You are both in our prayers!! I am progressing, but much too slowly! Ken is such a help. ❤

    • Thanks for Janine , Nancy . The same for you . Yes the healing always is slow . Ken is a kind man
      You are right to cut back in te yard work . I think I am going to do the same .

  10. This is really beautiful.

  11. That’s a nice quote and I’m glad you are surrounded by so much beauty above and below you.

  12. Christine says:

    Good morning, Michel. I love this. I, too, love to sky watch but only this winter have I seen as many stars and planets here in Illinois. Many nights have been clear enough to see whole constellations, and Venus has been in the western sky. Each night when Cupcake and I go for our evening walk it makes me happy to see a clear night, and star watching reminds me of my youth, laying in the grass, staring at the stars, and daydreaming.
    My snowdrops are out also, the crocus just started to bloom yesterday.
    My best to you and to Janine also.
    ❤Christine

  13. Annalisa says:

    C’est très beau et très vai, Michel!

  14. Carole says:

    Très joli ça sent les beaux jours .cette pluie et cette humidité nous rend morose.les terrains sont gorgés d eau. j espère que vous allez bien .bon après-midi on vs embrasse

  15. Susan Joos says:

    Beautiful post – I love the imagery!

    We do not see much of the stars here, either, partly due to mostly cloudy skies, and partly due to light pollution. I guess we appreciate them all the more when we do see them!

  16. bernard25 says:

    BONSOIR MICHEL A TOI TA FAMILLE ET AMIS
    Sourire ce matin chez moi

    Mais à tout prendre
    De loin une caresse, un regard de tendresse
    C’est un secret offert, à peine dévoilé
    Un rayon de soleil au travers des nuages
    Une ride au coin des yeux ce matin en est le souvenir
    Comme une fleur fanée désirant refleurir
    Un instant, un infini bonheur
    Une façon d’ouvrir si librement mon cœur
    Ce jour un éclair de lumière en ouvrant mes yeux
    Comme un bel arc-en-ciel, dans un coin de ciel bleu
    Je te souhaite de passer
    Une très belle et bonne soirée..

    Gros Bisous

    Bernard

    Je t’offre un petit café

  17. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie! My snowdrops are blooming now also, but the jonquils have all but passed for another season. Our Grandaughter Nova Rae and I were out the other night and she exclaimed “Look there’s Venus” I was amazed that a 3 year old would have listened to my rambling about the stars, she was so pleased with herself that I told her about Mars above Venus and now she can pick him out too. Thanks for the mention! I do need to start posting again, I think it’s important to share and journal our thoughts. ILYM

  18. Cheri Herald says:

    Ah, just lovely! Thanks for sharing.

  19. Rachel says:

    Cher Michel,
    I am the girl from Hong Kong who studied French; I had not been on xanga for a long time and suddenly I thought of you. I am glad to see you are posting still and sharing your photos and experiences with us.
    Rachel

  20. neilc693 says:

    There’s nothing like new growth! Our weather here is so strange now, the temperature was about 70°F (20°C) at times in mid-February, and it has been changing by 15 or 20 degrees at a time (which I guess is about 10 degrees at a time for you folks). The plants don’t seem to be acting very differently, though—I guess they “know” when they’re ready.

  21. Marion Manson says:

    I also love looking at the stars and wondering what lies beyond! Lovely post! You would enjoy looking at the Sydney Observatory, Michel. It’s near where I work and one can look through powerful telescopes. It’s all housed and in a very old and beautiful building. 🙂

  22. L. Marie says:

    Very lovely, Michel. The crocuses flowers are definitely like stars by the tree. 🙂 Thank you for those images!

  23. Louisa Wah says:

    Michel, what a delightful and poetic post! May you always be blessed with the blossoms of the angels and the stars of the earth! xoxo

  24. cjjustice1 says:

    I love this post of yours so very much! I have always loved that side of you which is artistic and poetic! Much love to you and Janine. I pray that she is doing much better these days!
    Love,
    Carolyn

  25. Zakiah says:

    Beautiful Post Michel. Loved it.

  26. Just some early Happy Birthday wishes for you, Michel! 🙂 I hope you have a Happy Birthday on Sunday! 🙂
    HUGS!!! and ❤ 🙂

  27. Larry says:

    I love the images, Michel. Very beautiful! All the best to you and the family!

  28. Larry says:

    Wishing you a very happy birthday, Michel, from both Wendy and myself. Cheers and best wishes!

  29. boobledygook says:

    Firstly, HAPPY BIRTHDAY MICHEL 😊🎁❤🎂 wishing you many happy returns of the day.
    Two things that i love to do growing up and even today, watching the cloud formations and the stars at night. Two memorable and best opportunities i had watching the stars was when i stayed at one of the parks in Sulawesi. We had the full view of the dark but beautifully lit sky..the sound of nature with hot coffee simply added the joy to that setting..its like we had the whole sky to ourselves 😁, the second was in Spain during the summer and it was very first time to see the falling stars.
    If im back in Kuala Lumpur i hardly get the opportunity to see the stars let alone the beauty of the moon. So whenever i get the opportunity i take it and enjoy it.
    Thank you for sharing that beautiful photo of fauna. I will be honest its my first to see crocuses and snowdrops..i only read about it and saw an illustration of it from one of my Enid Blyton books 😊

  30. Happy Birthday, Michel!
    🎈 🙂 🎂 🙂 🎉 🙂 🍷 🙂
    I’m so glad you were born! You bring such joy, love, wisdom, kindness and everything good to the world!
    Thank you for being my friend! I celebrate you today!
    Enjoy your family as they celebrate you!
    Birthday (((HUGS))) and ❤ 🙂

  31. Happy Birthday. 🙂 Thank you for your comments too. The gardening season is almost here.

  32. Lovely post. I almost feel as if I were there. Refreshing and beautiful. Hugs.

  33. AM says:

    Tu es un enfant du début du printemps cher Michel! Très bon anniversaire!!!
    Le souvenir de ta naissance est fleuri à chaque année renouvelée!
    Meilleurs voeux de nous 2, AM&Johann

  34. Gracia says:

    It seems I am always late reading your posts. I too loved the post, the quote and the pictures. Our poor little crocuses came up early and now it is snowing. It is often cloudy here so we don’t always see the sky. The sky in Africa was amazing! It seemed like you could reach out and touch the moon, and the stars were so brilliant. It’s so sad that there is still a lot of fighting and killing there.

  35. julie essex says:

    A lovely post Michel . Hopefully spring is here now and its time to enjoy the new life that is coming into the gardens

  36. Oh, BTW: Happy Pi Day to you!!! 😀
    3.1415926535 8979323846 2643383279+ HUGS!!! 😛
    I wonder when it is Pie Day?!?!? 🙂

  37. You are such a spiritual person. Thank you for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

