Rescue of the blue spruce

Au secours du sapin bleu
Rescue of the blue spruce

English version below the pictures

Nous avons planté il y a trente ans dans la cour donnat sur la rue une sorte de sapin bleu. Il était petit mais maintenant in est grand et beau.
Je l’ ai déjà sauvé deux fois depuis lors , une première fois contre des cochenilles et une seconde fois contre le lierre qui avait grimpé jusqu’au sommet. Je pensais en être débarrassé  mais la semaine dernière je vis à nouveau une branche de lierre qui se pavanait à nouveau au somment de l’ arbre. Quelle honte ! En ce moment on est envahi de lierre dans les haies et sur les arbres.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

We planted thirty yrears ago a kind of blue spruce in our front yard . It was small but now it is tall and looks nice .
I already saved it twice since then  a first time against an attack of insects and a second time against ivy which  had climbed to the top. I hoped to get rid of this last but last week I saw a branch of ivy that triumphed again at the top of the tree! What a shame ! At this time we have ivy everywhere in the hedges and the trees .

Par suite une nouvelle attaque était nécessaire et avec un râteau impitoyable je tirai les tiges qui rampaient sur le sol sous les branches basses . Ma femme prit les deux photos ci-dessous de ce spectacle impressionnant !

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

So  a new attack was needed and last week with a merciless rake I pulled the stems crawling on the ground under the lower branches .  My wife took the two photos above of this impressing show !

Soudain elle ne me vit plus . Où étais-je  ?Je venais de ramper sous les branches basses pour atteindre le tronc puis je m’ étais relevé entre les branches pour couper les tiges qui grimpaient en s’enroulant autour du tronc. J’ai coupé à deux mètres environ. Maintenant j’espère le haut du lierre va mourir . La dernière photo ci-dessous montre le résultat de mon travail . Le lierre au sommet est encore là mais bientôt disparaîtra.

Où qu’on aille dans le jardin on voit toujours du travail à faire . mais chaque chose en son temmps .Pas de panique.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Suddenly she did no more  see me . Where I was ? I had just crawled under the lower branches to reach the trunk of the tree  then I was standing up up between the branches  to cut the stems climbing in rolling around the trunk . I cut to the hight of two meters .  Now I hope the top of the ivy die .  The last photo shows the result of my work . The ivy at the top is still there but soon will  disappear..

Whenever I go in the garden I see work to do .But one thing at a time / No panic!

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Rescue of the blue spruce

  1. Your garden is giving you a lot of joy and exercise.

    When I saw the first picture, I was wondering what that odd leaf was at the top. I hope it’ll be gone soon.

  2. Heartafire says:

    Such a beautiful tree, we see them on the Christmas tree lots, they are a favorite and heartbreaking to see them cut down. This one is such fine specimen, I hope you can save it. Ivy and all climbing vines love to grow on anything that will hold it as you know, I have a tropical plant that is consumed with it. I have jasmine in the back yard that attached to my fence and now has spread to the neighbors live Oak, I don’t know what to do, it is so sturdy with thick stems. Have a beautiful season Michel, I have missed your posts! Much love ❤

    • There is a competition between the species , The one more adapted push the others away or eliminate them .The garden would go back quickly to a wild nature.

      • Heartafire says:

        Yes, that is happening in the corner of my back yard, (laughs) really, the jasmine is taking over even the strongest of trees in my neighbors yard.

  3. guestbrief says:

    I’m so glad you save the blue spruce… So Beautiful!! They will not grow well here, but we have red cedar and juniper trees… I wish for your family a Wonderful and blessed Christmas Season! ❤

    • Berries of some species of juniper tree ( Juniperus communis ) are used in Northern France , Dutchland and Belgium to perfume a kind of gin called juniper ( genièvre in French )

  4. mrswrangler says:

    My mom has ivy that has taken over her porch. We spent the first weekend of the month killing it. Hopefully winter shock will help

  5. I always think of ivy as such a beautiful thing, not something destructive. I’m glad you were able to save the tree once again, Michel. It is so beautiful! Do you decorate it for Christmas? The blue spruce is my favorite kind of Christmas tree.

    God bless you and your garden. You take such good care of it.

    Love,
    Caroline

  6. blb1 says:

    What a beautiful spruce! There is an ivy that grows at the corner of our yard from the neighbor’s. Or possibly I introduced it years ago, don’t remember. It is invasive, I keep trying to kill it as I can’t dig it out from between fences.
    (ps I wrote today also)

  7. What a beautiful tree! Thank you for sharing this Michel.

  8. iampeacenow says:

    Beautiful spruce tree! I love spruce trees. I know how difficult it can be to stop a vine from taking over. We’ve had that problem at the remodel house not from ivy but from a nuisance vine. I hope you succeed in keeping the ivy from your lovely spruce.
    Peace & love,
    Jane

  9. marica0701 says:

    Lovely tree! Hopefully the ivy won’t return again! You are the tree’s valiant protector 🙂

  10. jstnotherday says:

    I adore to see the man Michel at work. 🙂
    and such a good job!

  11. onedanyankee says:

    That’s a wonderful tree, and you’re fighting a good fight. I have to fight back the ivy on the house, the wild grapes on the fence, and the worst of all, poison ivy, on our trees. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

  12. Yvonne says:

    Ivy is a strong foe! I hope you can keep it under control. Bravo for your fine efforts.

  13. Great job, Michel! There you and your hat are having adventures! You are a super hero to that magnificent blue spruce! Thank you for saving it, again! I’m glad Janine caught you in action and took photos! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  14. Fauquet says:

    Mon père, ce héros !
    Bravo Papa !

  15. mcbery says:

    Yes, one thing at a time is much easier than thinking of all at once> I love pine trees too. Staying green all winter is beautiful. Blessings Michel.

  16. Christine says:

    It is a beautiful, perfect tree! Your poor wife, watching you climb a tree with saw in hand! But all is well and I agree with you, the vines on top will die off now. When it was a small tree did you decorate it with Christmas lights?
    ❤️ Christine

  17. weggieboy says:

    Ivy gives you a lifetime of things to do. I have a similar plant (Virginia creeper https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parthenocissus_quinquefolia ) that I weed, and weed, and weed, but it never is the last time!

    • Thanks Doug I have this coming from the previous owners of the house , more than thirty years ago. . This wine climbs in the branches of others bushes or trees, crawls on the ground and underground, invades and kills other plnats . In French it is called ” Vigne vierge ” . Thanks to recall this.

  18. Susan says:

    What a lovely tree! Blue spruce has always been one of my favorite! But ivy is such a scourge. Years ago, I planted two tiny pots of ivy at the base of a lattice screen, one one each side. My vision was that the ivy would grow up and into the lattice, providing a lively green screen. And it did, but – it had further plans for world domination, beginning with my yard, so now twice a year we have to pull the stubbornly rooted stuff from the perimeter for many feet all around the lattice base. And worse, wherever it breaks off is worse than fighting a hydra, since a new plant will vigorously start its own campaign to take over. I hope you won that battle!

  19. puffpop says:

    You are so kind and so diligent to save this beautiful tree from all harm. When I was a little girl, my parents purchased a beautiful tree, just like that. It grew and grew and finally was taller than our home. We moved from that home in 1954 so I think the tree is probably gone. But a wonderful memory.

    A very Merry Christmas. A joy filled celebration of the birth of the Savior…the best gift mankind has ever received.

    Love,
    votre amie,
    Francoise

  20. Reminds me of the first Christmas tree Bruce and I had here in our little cottage. We planted in the back yard in 1998 and now it is a huge tree!!!! Merry Christmas and Blessings, Love, Nancy

  21. neilc693 says:

    I love ivy, but then I only ever had it indoors in pots (where it did not do well). Those trees do get large, don’t they? Spruce are a source of vitamin C, but hopefully you won’t ever be in a position where the tree will have to repay you that way!

  22. Carole says:

    Quel travail ,sur les photos on a l impression que tu chasses une bestiole ….tu n es pas très prudent….il est sacrément haut ce sapin.bonne soirée à tous les deux on vous embrasse
    .

  23. cocosangel says:

    The result of your work look awesome. The tree looks fabulous.

  24. Isabel Capillas says:

    That was a huge Christmas tree! Have a Merry Christmas, Uncle Michel🤗❤❤!

  25. Cath aka Singapore Girl says:

    “Whenever I go in the garden I see work to do .But one thing at a time / No panic!”
    Very assuring and comforting words as I thinking about the new school term.
    Bravo grandpa Michel!

  26. Winnie Senty says:

    You are ever the ardent gardener! I wish you would come over and help me with the backyard at the little house! It needs your TLC, meaning tender loving care. Have a blessed Christmas and a happy new year.

  27. Marion Manson says:

    Very good, Michel! Ivy can be a real pest – takes hold of trees so quickly. I know next door there’s a tree where it’s taken over, killing the tree. You have done a magnificent job here!!

  28. So glad you saved the tree. It is lovely. I hate to see trees and other things of nature die b/c of neglect or abuse.
    Hope you are having a great Dec. Hugs.

  29. suester7 says:

    That’s a good attitude to have – not panicking and taking things one step at a time!

    • Fir is the English name for the Genius Abies ( sapin in French ) .
      In this post I use an usual language in speaking of blue ” sapin ”
      In the reality this tree is strictly a picea pungens glauca ( epicea bleu in French ) but most of the people call it ” sapin bleu”

  30. I’ve never seen a more beautiful fir than your one? Must be a male fir.

  31. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie! Most of us have been concerned with the ivy choking the spruce, but my thoughts go to the planting of this magnificent tree. I would think you remember planting this tree 30 years ago and have been its protector for all these years. My friend, you are an inspiration to us all!

    The Heart of the Tree

    What does he plant who plants a tree?
    He plants a friend of sun and sky;
    He plants the flag of breezes free;
    The shaft of beauty, towering high.
    He plants a home to heaven anigh
    For song and mother-croon of bird
    In hushed and happy twilight heard —
    The treble of heaven’s harmony —
    These things he plants who plants a tree.
    ~ Henry Cuyler Bunner(1855 – 1896)

    Wishing You and Yours a very Merry Christmas and New Year!
    ILYM
    Marsha

  32. AM says:

    Très bel arbre et bien soigné!
    Bravos Michel et Janine!
    De très joyeuses fêtes de Noël bien à vous et à toute la famille ❤

  33. Zakiah says:

    My neighbors have Blue Spruce. While it is a beautiful Pine, I think if it is not maintained well, it can develop a lot of problems; the lower branches become scraggly and look unsightly. SO the neighbors remove many branches from the bottom, and you can see only the trunk for five or six feet, and then the tree grows beautiful. I hope the Ivy doesn’t attack the Spruce again.

  34. Your garden always looks so tidy under the maintenance of your watchful eye. The tree is such a beautiful tree. A Christmas tree for all year around. We no longer have ours as it became a fire problem and had a tilt to it. The underbrush that accumulates is a forever job of keeping it removed. You did good ! ❤

  35. Julie says:

    The front of your house would not be the same without that lovely blue sprouce.Do you put lights on the tree at Christmas time?

  36. Barbara Lenhard says:

    Michel, that is a beautiful tree! I showed the picture to my husband, Bill. He said he would trade our deep snow for your ivy! It is very cold and snowy here. 🎄☃💕

  37. L. Gail says:

    That is a beautiful tree and a very impressive show of rescue from you! I hope you all have a beautiful Christmas and lots of joy!

  38. Valerie Schroeder says:

    The ivy is a destructive plant. When we bought our first home there was ivy all along the fence. By the time we sold the house 7 years later, it had spread and grown up and over the garage. It looked pretty but it was destroying the wood and the shingles of the roof!

  39. ruth7933 says:

    What a magnificent tree and so worth the worth of saving. You have done well to plant it when ti was small and to nurture it into such a vision of beauty.

  40. bernard25 says:

    Bonsoir MICHEL belle entretien de ce beau sapin

    Dans un cadre chaleureux
    L’Amitié est une maison
    Accueillante et agréable
    Il suffit d’ouvrir la porte de son cœur
    Pour offrir le meilleur de soi-même
    Je te souhaite une bonne soirée

    Une belle semaine

    Gros bisous

    Une rose d’amitié à t’offrir

    Bernard

  41. It’s a beautiful tree, Michel! Hope you and Janine and the family have a wonderful Christmas.

    Love,
    Julie

  42. I admire your tenacity, Michel! And it is true that there will always be work when you step into the garden… and likewise in life. I wish you all the luck in ridding the tree of the ivy so that it will not be sucked of its life and can continue to grow and thrive!

  43. L. Marie says:

    I am glad you take such good care of the tree, Michel. It is a beautiful tree. Joyeux Noël, Michel et Janine.

  44. Larry says:

    Hopefully you have defeated the ivy, my friend! Lovely pictures of your tree. Wishing you and your loved ones all the best for the holidays and for 2017! Cheers!

  45. Peggy says:

    That looks like a horrendous job ~ well done!

Leave a Reply

