A hunting hut in the swamp

Une hutte de chasse au marais
A hunting hut in the swamp

 

English version below the pictures

 

Jeudi dernier , 22 Septembre , Janine et moi sommes allés chez sa soeur Michèle (oui elle s’appelle comme moi Michel ) . Elle vit avec son  mari Jacques dans une maison près de la mer . Voici une une photo d’eux prise en 2014 à leur 50ème anniversaire de mariage.

jacques-et-mich-30-aout-2014

Michèle et (and ) Jacques 

Last Thursday ( September 22) Janine and I went to her sister Michele ‘s . ( Yes she is named like me Michel !! ) .She lives with her husband Jacques  in a house by the sea. . Here is a photo of them taken at their 50th wedding anniversary  in 2014.

Mon beau-frère m’a emmené voir  sa cabane de chasse situé dans un marais protégé de la mer par une digue de galets. Dans cette plaine, il y a de nombreuses mares  et de nombreux oiseaux migrateurs y passent. Les chasseurs ont  construit sur le côté des mares une  hutte à moitié souterraine, couverte de gazon. Il est difficile de le remarquer. . Une étroite fenêtre permet de surveiller le passage des oiseaux (canards, oies) la nuit. Le chasseur attend toute la nuit qu’il y ait du passage et qu’ils se posent sur la mare

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The hunting hut  in the swamp . La hutte de chasse au marais.

 My brother in law took me to his hunting hut located in a swamp protected from the sea only by a pebble dike. In this lowland there are many ponds. Numerous migratory birds pass there . The hunters built at the side of a pond a half underground hut, covered of lawn . It is hard to notice it. . A narrow window allows to survey the passage of the birds (ducks, geese ) at night. The hunter waits all night th e birds pass and land on the pond

Un coup d’œil à l’intérieur montre l’endroit où le chasseur est assis derrière la lucarne étroite pour surveiller  la mare  .. De faux oiseaux en bois sont sur l’eau pour attirer les oiseaux migrateurs. Les lits sont là pour se reposer quand il n’y a pas de passage d’oiseaux. Il y a aussi une deuxième pièce avec un poêle, une  table … Très confortable! ( voir le deux photos ci-dessous )

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The pond with fake birds  viewed from the hut

A glance inside shows the place where the hunter is sitting   behind the narrow dormer  to see the pond.. Fake wooden birds are  on the water  to attract the migratory birds.  Beds are there to have a rest when there is not any passage of birds . There is also a second room with a stove, table … Very comfortable !

Nous étions là pour une simple promenade mais le décor , l’ air marin , la flore et la faune si particulière donnent une impression très spéciale et laissent en nous un souvenir captivant
La preuve est que je me suis souvenu d’une nuit de chasse dans cette hutte  avec mon beau-frère en 1965. Personnellement, je ne suis pas un chasseur, mais cette nuit d’attente, le repas à l’aube dans un lieu désert avec le bruit de la mer, l’air vif du matin ne  sont pas oubliés.

jacques-hutte-8-1965

michel-hutte-8-1965

Breafast in the early morning by the hut 1965

Two shotos Août ( August)  1965 Jacques ( first photo  and me( holding a bottle ) for a breafast in the nature by the hut.

  We were there for a simple walk but the scenery, the sea air, the flora and fauna peculiar give a very special feeling and leaves us a captivating memory
  The proof is that I remembered a night of hunting in this hunting hut with my brothe in lawr in 1965. Personally I am not a hunter but that night of waiting , the meal at dawn in a desert place  with the sound of the  sea, the brisk morning air are not forgotten

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The pond; always the same    la mare, toujours identique.

_______________________________________________________________

Up date   September 29 

Aujourd’hui c’est la St Michel . C ‘ est ma fête que nous célébrerons .

b203321810

La mont saint Michel  St Michael ‘s Mount  an island in Normandy with an abbey dedicated to the archangel Michael  . See the golden statue at the top of the spire . Photo taken in  2005 . No more cars around now : only the sea and a pier

Today is St Michael ‘ s Day ( Michaelmas ) . It is my Day . We will celebrate  of course 

 

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to A hunting hut in the swamp

  1. Heartafire says:

    lovely photographs and memories, Michel. Love, Holly!

  2. cuteandcurls says:

    How beautiful it is to watch from the hut but then again very claustrophobic as its so small and too cramped. Its lovely to see you managed to keep your photos Michel. I like black and white photos the best…😊

  3. blb1 says:

    Happy Anniversary to the couple a few years less than Wil and I. 🙂 The only hunting I would be doing is with a camera. 🙂

  4. A very refreshing post, Michel.
    Here in Maine there are wood carvers who specialize in making and painting beautiful wooden ducks to lure the wildfowl (we call the wooden ones decoys) and some of the antique painted decoys are a treasured collector’s item you might often see on the mantel of someone’s fireplace.

    There’s nothing like camping out close to nature…the smells, the brisk morning air….Oh my! Is that a bottle of wine for breakfast? 🙂

    • I am glad to know you are a connoisseur about those wooden painted decoys . Do you know , Cynthia, some tourists have asked my brother in law why the “birds” did not fly away . The imitation is good .
      To attract the wild birds the hunters put in the edge of the pond wild captive ducks which ” sing s “in the night.

  5. weggieboy says:

    Duck blinds here often are build with marsh reeds or are earth bunkers. I suppose very rich people might go for something more permanent and elaborate. Regardless, this was very interesting. I would have enjoyed sleeping with the sound of the sea to rock me to sleep!

    • This hunting hut has been built by the family a long time ago and has been improved progressively . The same for the pond that has been dug by the family .
      In the estuary not far, the hunting huts are into the estuary and are floating up and down at high tide and low tide . We call them floating hut

  6. judyrutrider says:

    I’m gratified to learn that you are not a hunter. It would spoil my image of you if I learned otherwise.

  7. guestbrief says:

    Amazing place in a bird “blind” by the sea! I think I would have remembered it too! You look very comfortable and happy…. I would have been 3. ❤

  8. What a beautiful post! Thank you for sharing your memories.

  9. Yvonne says:

    What a nice treat to see a young you enjoying that healthy breakfast in the fresh air, Michel.

  10. whyzat says:

    Neolithic, indeed. Perhaps we were there, together, five thousand years ago, and with a spear you killed a duck for our dinner.

  11. I’d use a bow, arrows, and made a wood fire between two stones. I see, Dian, that we could do a book on the daily life in the Neolithic

  12. puffpop says:

    You have captured the fresh invigorating atmosphere, the joy of being out in nature. A very nice memory you shared. I understand you not being a “hunter”. Humans are, after all, carnivorous creatures but while I do like the idea of being out in nature, I don’t like what guns can do and it seems an unfair advantage..

    I remember camping in a beautiful campground close to a lovely lake but during duck hunting season and it pained me to hear the constant shooting knowing that another duck had lost it’s mate. I have heard that they mate for life.
    I only killed one animal and that was a fish in a bubbling brook and I remember how it fought for it’s life while JouJou was right there and wanting a part of the feast. We cooked the trout and it became a part of us. I think for the trout, it was it’s purpose but….I still remember how it fought to stay alive.

    • What I memorized was principally the atmosphere to be alone in a wild nature at night by the sea anf feeling sensation unknown until then .
      There is also the expectation of a hypothetical passage of birds always uncertain and I was admiring the patience of my brother in law ( I slept a large part of the night ! 🙂 )

  13. mcbery says:

    Takes a lot of patience! You look so young. 🙂 I don’t like to hunt either unless some animal is killing my animals. We’ve raised ducks and chickens. I really prefer chicken for the flavor but duck can be tasty too. Happy hunting for different things now! 🙂 Maybe the finest glass of wine? Blessings.

    • Yes we have explored the various regions of Frances producing wine during numerous years and our trophy was in our cellar. .Now we do not travel on long distances but we still can practice the wine hunting in the wine fairs in the malls .! 🙂

  14. Susan Joos says:

    It would make a most excellent bird observatory! I suppose I am hypocritical because I enjoy meat but could not kill it myself, and hate the thought of killing other creatures in general. I have never tasted duck, but I have heard it is fatty. Enjoyed the pictures! That was a couple of years ago I see, but the memory is as clear as the picture!

  15. suester7 says:

    Sounds like an interesting experience. I like the black-and-white photos of you and your brother-in-law.

  16. L. Gail says:

    Thank you for sharing your memories. I like the pictures.

  17. it was so nice to see a picture of you as a young man!!
    a lovely recount of a special place 🙂

  18. In Minnesota, we have fish houses that fishermen put out on the ice on the frozen lakes. They drill through the ice and can sit and fish in perfect comfort. Some of them are very elaborate and have music systems, maybe a television, beds, stoves and other comforts. Fishermen can spend days out there fishing. You may see many of these houses on a lake. The fishermen plow roads on the ice and drive cars and trucks out there. Whole villages of ice houses develop. Of course, they have to take the houses off the lake before the ice melts in the spring!

  19. Isabel Capillas says:

    The hunting hut was so cleverly designed . The place is a good site for family or friends to have picnic after bird watching😊

  20. jstnotherday says:

    ‘The hut’ – I thought it was a fortification of defense from the war.
    A nice memory the camaraderie of the men meeting for the hunt.
    It is always nice to spend time in nature, what ever way you do it.

  21. What great memories and a lovely place.
    They look like a happy couple too.
    Hugs.

  22. Marion says:

    Fantastic post, Michel! 🙂 How interesting – a hunting hut! What an experience that would have been for you and your brother-in-law. I hadn’t actually heard of these huts before, and certainly hadn’t been aware they were fitted out with bunks! I love the photos from 1965!! 🙂 ❤

  23. Susan Joos says:

    Happy Name Day! I had fun researching the Mont and also the tradition of Name Days. Wishing you a wonderful celebration!

  24. Michel, I enjoyed very much reading your post here, esp seeing the black-and-white photos from another era. I wonder if hunting is still popular nowadays in France? Those ducks on the pond–I thought they were real ones? Who would’ve known?

    Happy St Michel day! It is a beautiful castle. Hope to visit one day.

  25. Peggy says:

    I am thankful you didn’t post any photos of dead birds! LoL ~ 😉

  26. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie! Such a delightful post, I would have guessed that you were not the hunter, let Jaques be the Grosvenor and you the Sommelier! The best of both worlds I think, I don’t care to hunt myself either but I do enjoy the bounty, there is not much better than roast duck if cooked properly! I love the photo of you, hopefully, you don’t mind that I copied it to my computer as a screensaver. Happy St Michael‘s Day and tchin-tchin”!!! ILYM

  27. Michel, even though not a hunter, how peaceful it must have been in that ‘hut’ so many years ago. An early, brisk morning and hot coffee welcomes what Mother Nature offers. I love the photo of you with the bottle. Thanks for sharing one of your memories. ❤ Marilyn

  28. Oh, I loved seeing and learning about a hunting hit!
    Love the photos of the swamp and the birds!
    No wonder you are a handsome well-seasoned man today, Michel…you were a handsome man back in 1965! 🙂
    Did Jacques have any hunting dogs?!
    The only part of hunting and fishing I would enjoy is the beautiful scenery, the fresh air, and the time spent with companions.
    Happy St Michael’s Day (Michaelmas)! Hope you had a wonderful day! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    • Thanks for the wishes , carolyn .
      yes jacwues always had hunting dog always the same breed : Brittany spaniel
      Like you what I love is the special ambiance, hard to express we feel in that situation.

  29. Peggy says:

    to answer your questions about the “mosquito” ~ it is actually a dragonfly ~ 🙂

  30. julie essex says:

    A belated St Michael’s day wishes. Wonderful photos of your brother in law and yourself back in 1965. The hide looks quite comfortable for the hunter

  31. bernard25 says:

    Bonjour MICHEL Bon anniversaire à tes amies

    Quelle belle histoire entre nous

    Je t’envoie un bouquet de fleurs

    Chargé de parfum que ta demeure soit embaumé de celui-ci
    Comme guidé par un vent d’amour , les anges viennent te protéger
    Je te souhaite une merveilleuse journée un bon Week-End
    Ici le temps est chargé de pluie mais il en fallait un peu

    Pour toi en guise de mon Amitié

    Une douce pluie de tendresse et de bisous

    Bernard

  32. Connie T says:

    I have never seen anything like this. Thanks for posting about it. I personally would just watch the birds but some people like to shoot them.

Leave a Reply

