Happy gardener !

Jardinier heureux!
Happy gardener !

English version below the pictures

La semaine dernière, j’ai récolté les pommes de terre plantées en Avril avec ma fille Véronique (voir les entrées précédentes). Je fus surpris par la bonne récolte. Après les mois désastreux de Mai-Juin, toujours des pluies, les jardiniers étaient désespérés: les carottes ne germaient pas, les haricot verts n’ont pas pu être semés. Mais le soleil et la chaleur sont venus avec Juillet. Début Juillet, j’ai semé tard les haricots verts et semé à nouveau les carottes. Tout cela pousse vite pour rattraper le temps perdu et j’ai pu  arracher les pommes de terre. les 5 et 6 Août
Heureux celui qui peut faire  produire par la terre de quoi le nourrir! Ma femme Janine a pris de moi une photo, souriant, enfin!  🙂

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

A good crop   Une bonne récolte

   Last week I harvested the potatoes planted in April with my daughter Véronique ( see previous entries ). I was surprised by the good crop . After the disastrous months of May-June, always rainy,  the gardeners were desperate : the carrots did not germinate, the green bean could not been sown . But The sun and the warmth came with July, so I sowed the green beans and sowed again carrots . All of this are growing fast and  I could snatch  out the potatoes .
  Happy man the one who can make the earth produce his food . My wife Janine took  photos of me , smiling, at last !! 🙂

Cette deuxième photo est la même, mais dans un cadre plus large avec une meilleure vue sur le jardin autour, au début d’Août. Nous voyons les haricots verts, une rangée de céleri et une rangée de scarole en pleine  croissance. Derrière moi, les pommiers deviennent comme des” pommiers-pleureurs” chargés de fruits.
Heureux jardinier!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

A larger view . Une vue plus large .

   This second photo is the same but in a larger frame with a better view of the garden around at the beginning of August. We see the green beans, a row of celery and a row of escarole  growing. Behind me the apple trees become “weeping apple trees”  and are loaded of fruits .
   Happy gardener! . 

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Happy gardener !

  1. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Hi Michel. I Loved your photos!! ;I planted potatoes once. As a teen boy and my mom a widow, I found a farmed seeking grade ‘B’ potaotes of 99 cents per 100 pounds. I sold them at the store for 2 dollars. We made lots of money. Lol Mom thought I was crazy at frist, but then the customers (poor people) flocked to our store.

    I love your life, family, and home.

    Blessings

    Fran

  2. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie! Psalm 128:2 says You shall eat the fruit of the labor of your hands; you shall be blessed, and it shall be well with you. I think you are truly blessed, I know you are a blessing to us all! p.s. that’s a whole lot of potatoes =))) ILYM

  3. Heartafire says:

    Wonderful photograph! A lovely garden Michel! I miss the days when as a young girl I helped in the vegetable garden on my grandparents farm, they grew all their own food, as well as peach trees, fig trees, pecan trees, a cornucopia of delights. Thank you for this peaceful and beautiful scene. Love, Holly ❤

    • I try to imagine what could be your grandparents’garden ! It should be magic . I understand, Holly, you have fond memories from this time,.

      • Heartafire says:

        Indeed Michel. Escaping the city to this rural wonderland of fields , forests, animals, rivers and simple but sometimes hard life. Made quite an impression on me.

  4. mrswrangler says:

    I love my garden. Starting to see the fruit of my labors

  5. weggieboy says:

    Wow, Michel! I’d say you are doing something right! I can’t eat potatoes as much as I used to because they are high in potassium, something that will stop your heart if you are on dialysis and don’t pay attention to it! Anyway, it looks like you have a lovely lot of potatoes that will keep you through the winter, too!

  6. blb1 says:

    How wonderful you are able to continue with your garden. 🙂

  7. Tree says:

    That’s a lot of potatoes! Congratulations on your successful garden. 🙂

  8. iampeacenow says:

    What a lovely garden you have! So good to see your smiling face, dear friend. I’m glad the weather has turned good for your efforts in producing lovely vegetables. Enjoy your bounty! Much peace and love to you

  9. A wonderful post. I love fresh vegetables!

  10. jstnotherday says:

    Wow, wonderful potato harvest. I can’t believe they can be dug up already!
    Yes, your own little paradise is this garden!
    Great photo of a happy Michel. 🙂 ❤

    • I harvest the potatoes every year at this time but This year I could wait a bit more because the foliage still was green or almost . But I needed the space to plant the young leeks sown at spring.. If I wait tooo long to harvest the potatoes are attacked by various insects of the soil or by a mushroom, the mildew.

  11. What a harvest! I’m glad you’ll also have a good crop of beans and carrots.

  12. L. Gail says:

    Potatoes! Potatoes! many potatoes. That is a staple of food here in our family. fried potatoes! mashed potatoes! baked potatoes! boiled potatoes! make salad with potatoes! cooked on green beans potatoes! potato cakes! Even as a child raw potatoes with salt. I love them fixed any way. You are lucky to have all those new potatoes….and a daughter to help in the garden. 🙂

  13. Connie T says:

    You grew a lot of potatoes. I love potatoes. I like to bake them. Rub them with lard and the sprinkle a lot of course salt all over them. Wrap them in foil and bake them. That is how the steak house makes them. I also like to peal them and pressure cook them for 5 minutes. They come out soft and good. Put butter on them.

  14. ruth7933 says:

    Oh Michel what a wonderful harvest and many days of excellent meals. Nothing tastes as good as what you have grown yourself.

  15. What wonderful photos of you (and Your Hat) and your bountiful harvest, Michel! 🙂 YAY for The Happy Gardener! 🙂

    YAY for potatoes! There are so many delicious ways to fix them! 🙂

    Q. What did one potato say to the other potato?
    A. I got my eyes on you!
    😛

    And ohmygosh look at all the apples! 🙂

    1st Apple (to 2nd Apple): What’s eating you?
    2nd Apple: Worms! Ack!
    😀

    Enjoy “the fruits of your labor”!
    HUGS and ❤ !!! 🙂

  16. judyrutrider says:

    I had never planted potatoes before but I had some in the pantry that had started to sprout so I put them in the garden. After I planted, I read online that one should only plant seed potatoes and that they should be planted at a specific time of the year…not the time of year I had planted. But they sprouted nice healthy plants even though I’d planted in December. Then, I had no idea when to pick them. So, I started digging them up one by one. At first we ate little potatoes and then later we had medium potatoes. Finally, when the plants became infested with aphids, I pulled them all out and we had nice BIG potatoes. And soon thereafter, I found that the ones I’d missed were busy creating families of potatoes of their own. I tell all my friends who claim they don’t have a green thumb to plant potatoes. They are ridiculously easy to grow and you can grow them year round in Southern CA.

  17. Now I’m hungry for potatoes. 🙂

  18. Yvonne says:

    Did you dig up some of the potatoes when they were very young? That’s when they taste the very best.

    • I will try next year although it is not the habit here in my area . However I could wait to dig up my potatoes because the foliage still was almost green for many, but I needed the space to plant the leeks.! 🙂

  19. mcbery says:

    Yummy! New potatoes! Looks like a lovely place, Michel. May God bless the fruit of your labors, always! 🙂

  20. Marion says:

    Michel, you’re a fantastic gardener!! Look at that great crop of potatoes! 🙂

  21. cerwindoris says:

    I love seeing your smiling face and the potatoes.

  22. Fauquet Carole says:

    jolie récolte c’est inespéré…… Nous attendons isabelle qui passe une soirée à la maison .Temps mitigé aujourd hui , gros nuages qui laissent envisager la venue de la pluie.

  23. Lauren says:

    Happy harvest, from the warmth of the sun and strong hands. I hope you are enjoying the fruits of your labor, Michel. Missing you, love, Lowie xxoo

  24. Your potatoes look delicious! We used to have a big garden but don’t anymore. The thing I miss most is the green beans. Fresh green beans from the garden are better than any you can buy! We still have tomatoes, asparagus and herbs, plus raspberries, rhubarb, and an apple tree. We will have a lot of apples this year, too.

    Enjoy the fruits of your labor!

  25. Peggy says:

    What a great crop of potatoes!!!

  26. Isabel Capillas says:

    What a happy gardener with a sweet smile! I love potatoes, you can cook and eat it in so many ways! Always love to see your pictures, Uncle Michel.

  27. I love the photos of you. You look great.
    We always had a garden when I was growing up but haven’t got the room here…plus the deer come in and eat whatever we plant.
    Love, E

  28. Oh I think that is sooo wonderful that you have such a great crop!!! I love the weeping apple trees!! That’s my favorite fruit so I so wish I were there to eat some! I love potatoes too! Hehe😜wonderful news and great to see the happ farmer Michel!!!😉😍👍❤️💖Ang

  29. julie essex says:

    A delightful photos of the happy gardener , I remember walking to see your growing potatoes

  30. cocosangel says:

    Michel, you are garden is super. And your smile …… 🙂 I am sure you were smiling so much because Jeanne was taking the photo… right???
    You and your daughter has got a lot produce of potato’s.

  31. AM says:

    Il y a de quoi sourire! Merci Mère Terre de ses bontés renouvelées.
    Parfois, juste de la patience est requise.
    Amitiés et bonne récolte chez les Fauquet!
    AM

  32. L. Marie says:

    How lovely to see the fruit of your labor, Michel!
    Quel bonheur de voir le fruit de votre travail, Michel!

  33. A perfect picture of a jolly French gardener! So many potatoes…I imagine you have a cool dark place for them….how long will they keep? (Or maybe, with your large family, they will not last that long.)

  34. Zakiah says:

    Magnifique Michel! What a bumper crop of potatoes!

  35. Tudy says:

    My mind is racing with recipes that include potatoes. 😀

  36. nice2beme says:

    This is such a pleasure to see the results of hard work dealing with the garden. My aunt had a garden in the countryside and sometimes I tried to help her with it, but my power battery became low in the next 15 min of work.

  37. kaiori says:

    C’est si beau!! Bien fait mon ami 🙂

  38. It seems like you have done a good job?

Leave a Reply

