Ironing

Repassage
Ironing

English version below the picture

« Cet après-midi j’ai pris quelques photos de Janine alors qu’elle repassait. Quelle idée de faire une entrée avec ce non – événement. Pas d’événement? Peut-être, mais à la regarder, j’ai réalisé tout d’un coup que  je n’avais jamais étudié la question du repassage. Etant donné que nous avons eu 6 enfants et 13 petits-enfants, elle a  repassé au moins quatre mille fois depuis notre mariage, il y a 50 ans. . Quoi ? 4000 fois? Vous avez bien lu. Lorsque nous avions  nos 6 enfants à la maison, elle repassait deux fois et trois fois par semaine. Et tout cela sans une plainte.

Je sais, elle a maintenant un fer moderne qui projette la vapeur sur les vêtements. Et même plus, cette vapeur est faite par une sorte de machine à vapeur, un peu bruyante à certains moments,. Je me souviens de ma mère qui mettait ses fers à chauffer  sur le poêle à charbon. Ce temps est révolu Maintenant, toutes les choses fonctionnent à l’électricité, mais l’effort est le même et les repassages plus fréquents même avec les tissus modernes. C’ est dur pour le dos.

Alors, qui dira le mérite des femmes qui, sans maugréer et en maintenant un doux sourire, repassent chaque semaine une montagne  de sous-vêtements, pantalons, jupes, chemises et T-shirts, linge de table, linge de maison, draps, rideaux ..  et j’en oublie.
Les homes ne repassent-ils pas ?  Cela  arrive, mais le résultat est une catastrophe et les femmes préfèrent faire eux-mêmes. ”

J’ai écrit cela en Juin 2011 sur Xanga et je viens de réaliser que c’est t toujours pareil : rien n’a changé ni Janine, ni le repassage. Seules les quantités ont changé, nous avons 15 petits-enfants et 4260 repassages !!   🙂

Bien sûr, les talents de Janine ont d’autres champs pour agir: la cuisine, la maison,le jardinage, sans oublier son dévouement pour ses enfants, petits-enfants et moi pendant des années et des années et apportant également une aide à des  personnes handicapées.

L’amour est persévérant et va croissant.

janine repassant Juin 2011
janine ironing: 2011 – 2016, same photo. Janine repassant 2011-2016 photo identique

“In  the afternoon I took a couple of pictures of Janine while she was ironing . What an idea to make an entry with this no-event . No event?  Perhaps but at watching her I realized all of a sudden , I had never studied the question of the ironing  . Being given we got 6 children and 13 grandchildren, she have been ironing at least four thousand times since our wedding, 50 years ago. . What ? 4000 times?  You read well . When we had our 6 children at home she ironed twice and three times  per week . And all of this without a complaint.

 I know , she has now a modern iron  which casts the steam on the clothes  . And even more, this steam is made by a kind of steam maker , rather noisy at times. I remember my mother putting her irons upon the coal stove to make them warm . This time is gone  Now all of the  things work with electricity but the effort is the same and the ironings more frequent even with the modern fabrics . It is hard for the back.

  So who will say the merit of the women who without any grumbling and in keeping a sweet smile , are ironing every week  an amount of  underwear , trousers , skirts, shirts and T-shirts, table linen, household linen, sheets , curtains ..  and I forget  . 

 Do not  the men practise  ironing ? It happens but the result is a catastrophe and the women prefer do it themselves.”

    I wrote this in June 2011 on  Xanga and I have just realized it always was  the same : nothing has changed neither Janine nor the ironing . Only the quantities have changed we have 15 grandchildren and 4260 ironings !!    🙂

Of course Janine ‘ s talents have other fields to act : cooking,  the house, gardening  without forget her devotion for her children ,grandchildren and me  for years and years  and also bringing some help to handicapped people .

  Love is persevering and goes increasing.

 

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Ironing

  1. atzenicarlo says:

    She deserves at least a medal for all that.
    Lots of clothes don’t really need ironing. It is act of love and it grows with the amount of ironed clothes

    Bien à toi

    Carlo

  2. blb1 says:

    Janine is welcome to come to my house and iron. It is hard on the back and I don’t do it any more. I try to buy clothes that don’t require when I buy. I taught both of our children to do their own ironing when they were teens. Also taught them how to wash clothes and even dishes. They hated that and both rented apartments with dishwashers. 🙂

    When my husband retired he picked up washing dishes, no dishwasher in this house. He doesn’t like it now if I do them.

  3. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Janine does deserve your tribute and the medal. I don’t believe I ever tried ironing.
    I loved your tribute. My country has a holiday called Mother’s Day on May 7. Your gracious post reminded me of that. Your admiration of Janine is beautiful.

    Blessings

    Frank

  4. mrswrangler says:

    Ironing is something I seldom have to do. But I can iron when I need to. My ironing happens more when I am making some creation. That or when I was curtains or change table clothes.

  5. We can often see the wonder, in the everyday. And that the ordinary can be extraordinary. Blessings.

  6. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie…I believe Janine should be the model for the perfect wife and mother! I haven’t ironed in a very long time … ilym

  7. weggieboy says:

    Researching features on washing machines and dryers so I could find something suitable to replace an 20-year-old machine that’d finally given up the ghost, I came across one that not only washed and dried clothes in one machine, it had a steam feature. Once the clothes were dry, it would steam them from time to time till you removed them from the machine. That way they came out without wrinkles, mostly free of allergens, and sanitized! Clever technology!

  8. Heartafire says:

    Hi Michel, what a gem you have there. She is a caregiver, a true foundation of the family. Cheers and lots of love!

  9. Tree says:

    Wow, that’s a lot of ironing! I am behind on the ironing, and I do not iron much- only my fiancé’s shirts. My future mother in law irons a lot more than I do and she loves it!

    Does your wife iron the sheets from the bed? I do not, but a long time ago a columnist said that any woman who did not iron the sheets was a horrible housewife. (Many women disagreed, and she was forced to retract the statement!!)

    • puffpop says:

      I’ve never counted the years nor the times ironing. There is a lot less of it now that there are just the 2 of us and material is permanent press (which many times still needs touching up)

      Sewing requires having the ironing board up all the time but I haven’t found much time to do that recently with all that’s happened with John. When I do iron, I turn on music or things to listen to on the computer…mainly scripture…Psalms since it is relaxing. Standing for any period of time is a lot more strenuous than it once was when I was younger.

    • puffpop says:

      So count me in as a “horrible housewife” My husband who is the one who shares my bed doesn’t care if the sheets are ironed. People who iron sheets need to get a life!

    • Ironing or not, delicate question about the sheets.
      Janine irons the sheets because we do not have wire to hang the laundry. She irons the sheets in order to well fold them and stack easily in the closet.
      Personally I ‘humbly confess that I prefer to slip into my bed between very smooth sheets.
      But it is a question of habits

  10. Chores done by the love of the mother! ❤

  11. whyzat says:

    Her patience is admirable. So many wrinkles to smooth! Unlike her, I complained about ironing and I would put it off until I had a great pile to do. That was not very smart of me!

  12. cocosangel says:

    Janine is a special lady. And it is nice to see how she keeps her family, by taking care of them. 🙂
    It is amazing how far, we in the world has come. From the ironing using coal to modern day electric ironing using steam.
    My husband is very good at ironing. 🙂 ❤

  13. jstnotherday says:

    One of the things I found sexy about my husband was that he ironed his own clothes. 🙂 I found that very enticing, appealing, and charming.
    I have memories of my mother doing the ironing, and of me being assigned to help.
    Somehow in my own life I never found time for the ironing. I found that carefully shaking out, hanging, and folding worked to smooth the wrinkles from most things. For the linens I believed in the concept of the clothes press. Neatly folded linens laid on the bottom of the pile would press themselves. 🙂
    Some people find ironing soothing and relaxing… for me it was the washing of the dishes, especially when there’s a window over the sink to look out of. 🙂

  14. Irlene Flansburg says:

    Ahh I can remember ironing about 6 times? lol I use the dryer as my iron. Takes the wrinkles out very well… usually but not always. I once took a job to iron for a lady. I ironed all day but the pay was terrible so that was my last ironing job.

  15. judyrutrider says:

    When I was a kid, my dad owned a dry-cleaners. Of course, Mom, my sister, and I still ironed the washable clothes, but Dad did all of our good clothes. He was the fastest and best ironer of all of us.

  16. iampeacenow says:

    This is a lovely post paying tribute to the love of a wife and mother to take care of her family in every detail and household chore. It made me smile to read your words of paying attention and giving appreciation to her for her patient gifts to the family. peace & love to you both

  17. Aw! I love this post! What a sweet tribute to a wonderful woman! Janine deserves roses and kisses! But, I know (as a mom and wife) she would say she has always done what she needed to do to take care of her precious family. 🙂
    As I little girl, one of my chores was the ironing. With 8 kids and 2 adults in the house, I did not enjoy that chore. I used to make up a lot of stories in my head while I ironed. And I often teased my mom and said, “Where are the underpants? I’m supposed to iron the underpants, too…Right?!” 😛
    I know men who iron and they are great at it! 🙂
    HUGS that are not wrinkled for you and Janine!!! 😛

    • Frankly I do not love so much wrinkles ( when we can avoid them ).
      About underpants ? why not the underpants ? I wonder too ? Wrinkles are not good for them and for the one who wears them. ! 🙂

  18. mcbery says:

    I still iron too. Love the setting of the picture! Beautiful! 🙂 Blessings.

  19. She is a saint. I still iron my shirts and I try not to burn them or my fingers (it hasn’t happened yet).

  20. Connie T says:

    I don’t iron anymore. I hang up clothes as soon as they come out of the dryer. My husband bought a lot of shirts that needed to be ironed. It would take me hours. I told him he had to iron them himself. He got rid of the shirts. I only iron if my son needs to wear a white shirt which is very rare.

  21. pacificnorthwestgranny says:

    Janine is a wonder wife, and a woman who irons in these modern days of wash and wear is rare. Love this post Michel.

  22. julie essex says:

    Ironing is not my favorite household job but say that I would rather stand and do a pile than ” iron as you go ” as many people do nowadays. I love the fact that you have counted how many times Janine has done the ironing

  23. Isabel Capillas says:

    You are really a loving husband to Janine, appreciating every hard work and deed she has done for you and your family. ❤

  24. You are right when you say that Janine has many talents and that all of her hard work is a sign of her love for you and for your family!

  25. Janine deserves a hug and a reward 😉 I iron only when I have to. 😉 hugs.

  26. Cheri Herald says:

    My former Mother-in-Law used to count how many days of school were left by how many uniforms she had left to iron. She had five children. Like me, she counted it a task to be endured, certainly not enjoyed.

  27. L. Marie says:

    Janine is very patient. 🙂 That is the definition of love.

  28. onedanyankee says:

    That’s a lot of ironing, Michel! I was in the military, so I learned to iron my uniforms, and if I need ironing done for a job interview or special occasion, I do it myself. Mostly, though we have wash and wear, but it sure is nice to put on a crisp, freshly ironed shirt. Cheers!

  29. Nena says:

    So beautiful how you stopped to think about a task that many take for granted when it’s being done for them. You captured a very special pic:)

  30. Tribo, OCarm says:

    Love indeed perseveres

  31. Zakiah says:

    She is a wonderful lady married to a wonderful man; he appreciates her work and is so grateful to her for all the work she does. ❤
    Today I did about three hours of gardening, planting flowers and vegetables and adding the compost and the top soil. Mohamed, sat inside the house watching TV and doing the crossword puzzle! 😦

  32. Marion says:

    Michel, ordinary every day things are the most interesting to write about! Ironing to me a very boring but necessary chore. It’s funny, because I was really surprised at how many people never iron their clothes!! I asked the question on Facebook one day. I wonder how they can get away with not doing this. Don’t their clothes look crushed and shabby if they don’t? I iron a couple of times every week.

    I can see what a huge job it has been for Janine to iron for all those children and now grandchildren!!! 🙂

  33. Gill McGrath says:

    Such a lovely affectionate tribute to your beautiful wife. You are blessed Michel, to have each other and to have such a large and beautiful family! xxx ❤

  34. Cath aka Singapore Girl says:

    Once upon a time, there was no ironing board. My mother will lay out a very thick stack of cloth on the floor and iron our clothes.
    Your entries make me think of my parents’ life.

  35. I don’t think I have ever worn ironed underwear, but I’m grateful for my wife who irons my shirts and pants when necessary. I rarely ironed anything when I was single.

Leave a Reply

