Music in the air in Venice

Musique dans l’ air à Venise.

Music in the air in Venice.

English version below the pictures.

Notre amie Yvonne a souvent posté des observations intéressantes sur Venise . Je pourrais poster une quantité d’histoires sur notre voyage à Venise en 2011 mais en voici une brève . Comme souvent il s’agit d’une petite chose mais qui me marqua beaucoup.Nous marchions dans un endroit de Venise que nous avions choisi parce qu’il ne devait pas être surpeuplé de touristes. Nous suivions le côté d’une église dont nous ignorions le nom. C’est à ce moment là que j’ entendis des sons mélodieux venant du parvis de l’église ( bordé par un canal naturellement).

Je connaissais cette mélodie, c’était un extrait des Quatre Saisons de Vivaldi . Deux jeunes gens jouaient en plein air,l’un du violoncelle et l’ autre du violon. J‘étais en extase. Deux joueurs seulement mais je peux dire que c’était sublime . Je restais rivé sur place, hors du temps, je sentais Venise. Je me souvenais alors que Vivaldi, un des musiciens les plus célèbres, était né à Venise.( 1678) Cette musique dans l’ air me faisait vivre Venise autant que la place St Marc maintenant trop surpeuplée de touristes . Les salles de concert proposent du Vivaldi et un soir nous sommes allés à un concert . Je joins un lien vers une video qui n’ est pas de moi.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAI was ecstatic    J ‘ étais en extase    Photo Janine Fauquet June 2011

 Our friend Yvonne often posted interesting observations about Venice I could be able to  post a lot of entries about our trip in Venice in 2011 but I will relate only a short one  . As often it is a small fact but it marked much me..

We walked in a place of Venice that we had chosen because it should not be crowded with tourists. We were at the side of a church which we did not know the name . This is at this time I heard melodious sounds coming from the square in front of the church (  bordered by a canal; of course ).

 I knew this melody, it was an excerpt from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. Two young men were playing outside, one cello and one violin. I was ecstatic. Only two players but I can say it was sublime. I stood riveted in place, out of time, I felt Venice. I remembered at this moment Vivaldi, one of the most famous musicians, was born in Venice( 1678). The music in the air made ​​me live Venice as much as  St. Mark’s Square, now too crowded with tourists. The venues offer an evening of Vivaldi and we went to a concert. I have attached a link to a video that is not mine.

Pendant que j’étais là à écouter les musiciens un homme s’avança vers moi. Il parlait le français admirablement. Il était vêtu d’un sweat-shirt bleu et portait un sac en papier pour faire quelques emplettes   C’était sans aucun doute un Vénitien. Souvenez – vous que les musiciens se tenaient sur le parvis d’une église. L’homme me dit que cette église s’ appelait « S.Maria gloriosa dei frari » et que ses trois filles s’étaient mariées là. Elles arrivaient en gondoles.   J ‘ imaginais les  mariages sous le soleil, les robes blanches sortant des gondoles richement décorées . Sans aucun doute l’orgue devait jouer … du Vivaldi.
Savez -vous que je me sentais devenir Vénitien aussi  ?  🙂


Janine took the photo of the conversation with the man in blue  a bit late
Beside The photo showed the church name which we had not seen

While I was there to listen to the musicians a man came near me . He spoke French with a admirable way. He wore a blue sweatshirt and held a bag paper like than to go shopping. He was without any doubt a Venetian . Remember the musicians were standing on the square in front of a church  . The man told me this church is called “S Maria Gloriosa dei Frari” and he has had  his three daughters married there, at this church . They came by gondolas . I imagined those three weddings  under the sun , the white dresses getting out. the gondolas richly decorated  Without any doubt the organ must play ..Vivaldi .
Do you know I felt I was a Venetian , too ?  🙂

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Music in the air in Venice

  1. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Wow, Michel—like going back in time. That had to feel amazing. I saw a movie recently in which the actor was somehow trasported ot Paries in the 1800’s as I recall.

    I loved your photos and narratives. They made me feel like I was there.

    I see Venice in TV news and movies. It is so beautiful. Nice to see there are places you may go that do not have so many tourists.

    Quite a story about the one with three daughters. He is blesses.

    Have a nice rest of the afternoon.

    blessings,

    frank

  2. blb1 says:

    A lovely memory to share. I’ve never been fortunate enough to encounter street musicians here, but I don’t go downtown now.

    btw I am assuming you are not getting my notifies. I did write about the car show.
    http://mizbee.net/Patchwork/Oct/23Oct_2015.htm

  3. Heartafire says:

    Thank you for taking us along to Venice. Street musicians are fabulous, I have found they are usually very good. The man in blue shared a wonderful story, fairytale weddings, gondola’s, and I ofcourse love the music of Vivaldi. Thank you again for sharing!

    love,
    Holly

    • I was under the unexpected charm to hear the Four Seasonsin open air and amazed by the man and his daughters : I was totally captivated .
      So much I forgot to enter the church that is historical . But what is not historical in Venice ?.

      • Heartafire says:

        I neglected Venice while I was in Europe and did not make it there, perhaps someday. I’m so glad you had such a lovely visit. Perhaps if you get back there you will check out the old church, the architecture all across Europe is stunning. thank you Michel.

  4. blb1 says:

    ryc: you just forgot about Amber because you read it at: http://mizbee.net/Patchwork/Oct/13Oct_2015.htm and commented. 🙂

  5. puffpop says:

    You think of the nicest things to share. I can just imagine coming across these musicians playing Vivaldi…I , too love his music. It is upbeat and quite beautiful. How lucky you were to encounter these precious moments and now so can we since you’ve shared.

    Merci!

    Love,
    votre amie

    Francoise

  6. cocosangel says:

    That is so sweet Michel.

  7. throughtheeyesofmycat says:

    Oh what a lovely day this was for you Michel.

    • Yes it was a day that we do not often live ? Uplifting. I cannot visit your website since your name is not a link . Probably you prefer to be in private , and why not?
      In friendshiP

  8. whyzat says:

    It sounds like a dream!

  9. Yvonne says:

    Venice is without doubt a city to capture our senses. I hope it can survive the onslaught of the 21st century barbarians …

    Thank you for mentioning me! I am going back to Venice in 5 weeks; I hope to find lots of delights to share. Baci! ❤

  10. nannyfountain says:

    Thank you for sharing such wonders ❤

  11. OH! This is so beautiful and so wonderful I have tears in my eyes, Michel! Just reading about your experiences and emotions made me feel like I was there, too! 🙂

    One of my favorite parts of traveling is talking to people! (Yes, I am very friendly!) I love hearing their stories…whether they are a local or a tourist like me! That man’s memories of his daughter’s weddings is so sweet! I’m glad he shared that with you. Like you, I can imagine those wedding days, too! 🙂

    I, also, love the street musicians…I’ve heard amazing music from street performers in San Francisco, Denver, New Orleans, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Nashville, St. Louis…and I could go on and on! 🙂

    Thank you for this “trip” today, Michel! It took me away for a few minutes to such a beautiful place! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  12. CLynn says:

    The link you shared for the music is “blocked in my country” 😦

    What a lovely memory you shared. How nice it is to travel and meet friendly people in friendly places. 🙂

  13. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie!!! I too learned the italian word for kisses, and how to pronounce it correctly! What a wonderful way to spend your holiday, wonderful music, beautiful architecture and lovely company…I too love Vivaldi….and images of young brides in gondolas and white dresses…ilym baci ❤

  14. Zakiah says:

    Dear Michel,
    What a fantastic memory you have posted here. I wish I could hear that piece. Unfortunately I am not able to open the link. I shall keep trying. The imagery of your post is most beautiful. Thank you.
    Love, ❤

    Zakiah.

  15. L. Gail says:

    You are lucky to go to Venice.

  16. vickyvix2 says:

    It sounds like it was an absolute moment of perfection. Thank you for sharing, I lived the experience through your words. I went to Venice a couple of years ago and it was as awe-inspiring as you say. I’m glad you had such a moving experience.

  17. This post made me smile. What a great experience for you. Thank you for sharing it with us..I almost felt I had been there too. hugs.

  18. I just love encountering street musicians! No matter what kind of music they are playing, they add joy to the atmosphere! I can imagine that you enjoyed talking to the man in the blue sweatshirt. It must have been a wonderful sight to see his daughters arriving for their weddings by gondola! I picture the gondolas decorated with lots of beautiful flowers.

  19. L. Marie says:

    What a beautiful experience. And how lovely to be in Venice.

  20. AM says:

    Un moment de grâce authentique, et merveilleusement partagé ici avec nous.
    Merci Michel!
    Vive la musique et Venise et la communication entre les êtres aux atomes crochus…
    Amitiés

  21. atzenicarlo says:

    Venice is a very mysterious city indeed. It is good to feel like one of them when you were there …..it seems a century ago.
    It is pity that the tourists are too many.

    Amitié

    Carlo

  22. mimiwi2013 says:

    I think discovering something by surprise is the best! Especially when it involves someone playing Vivaldi!! The Four Seasons composition is one of my favorites. Calms me and excites me at the same time! How wonderful that you had that experience. I bet you wished you had your flute with you so you could join in playing with them!! Your experience reminds me of when we visited our grandson when he attended Duke University on the east coast. There is a magnificent chapel there (not quite as impressive as many of your European cathedrals, though—but grand enough for here in the U.S.). We were walking to the entrance, and standing outside by a side door were 4 men—German, I think—practicing a song or two. Maybe to sing inside later on. Beautiful male voices. Then when we were looking around and admiring the chapel inside for a while, a choir came in and started practicing, probably for the Sunday service the next day. They were not singing loudly, but their voices carried magnificently through the large chapel. Very moving! Like I said—the unexpected is sometimes more delightful than a planned happening! Venice has always intrigued me, and am sorry I will never get to visit it and many other European cities, too. You and Janine must continue your traveling, so I can enjoy these places through your photos and your writing about your experiences!! Love, Nancy and Ken ❤

  23. CLynn says:

    Ah, wonderful, the link works! I was able to listen while making my brunch. It gives inspiration. 🙂
    The immediate thought that sprang to mind was, “Ah, the queen’s music.” 🙂

  24. g. says:

    Michel! How wonderful to find you here. (I was Underused on xanga.) I can’t tell you how pleased I am to be able to follow your posts again.
    g.

  25. I am so happy to find you again g.

  26. julie essex says:

    A lovely memory Michel , I think its wonderful to hear music while you walk around a city

  27. pacificnorthwestmudpuddlejumpers says:

    Oh what a wonderful memory and what a wonderful day it must have been.
    Ruth

  28. Ruth, I suppose your are the vet TD’ s wife . Thanks for the comment . But I cannnot join you, your wordpress site with this name above is no more fonctional .

  29. Gill McGrath says:

    Michel ~. You always describe the atmosphere so beautifully and it is wonderful to see the photos to the sounds of Vivaldi and hear the lovely thoughts and stories you had in this lovely place Your photos are such treasures! Love Gill

  30. neilc693 says:

    What a nice story. It’s rewarding to seek out the by-ways. I think you need far fewer performers, for much music, than is commonly thought. One school of thought claims Bach only ever had very small choirs (the theory is called “one voice per part,” which well describes it), and that was how his pieces were meant to be performed.

Leave a Reply

