Quinces and apples

Coings et pommes
Quinces and apples

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

English version below the pictures

Dans notre pelouse nous avons quelques arbres fruitiers dont un cognassier et deux pommiers . La récolte va commencer. Janine est toujours en admiration devant le cognassier et ses fruits d’or . Souvenir de jeunesse : une tante avait cet arbre et faisait de la gelée de coings . C’est très parfumé . Si vous regardez une encyclopédie vous constaterez que le cognassier est cultivé depuis fort longtemps et le fruit utilisé dans l’ alimentation, et pas seulement pour la gelée,  dans certaines régions méditerranéennes.

J’ai l’impression que cette semaine nous allons cueillir coings et pommes . Pas une mince affaire quand le pommier est vieux et haut .

On n’a rien sans mal

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Quince tree and behind Apple tree (red Calvilles ) cognassier et pommier calville rouge
Click on the photo to enlarge

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Quinces        coings

Click on the photos to enlarge (pour agrandir )

   

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Quince jelly made by Janine in 2013  Gelée de coings faite par Janine en 201

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Picking the apples “reine de reinette ” on the tall apple tree 2014. Récolte sur le grand pommier(reine des reinettes)                      Click to enlarge

 In our lawn we have some fruit trees and among them a quince tree and two apple trees . The harvest is going to begin . My wife Janine always is in awe of quince tree and its golden fruits . Memories of her youth ( an aunt of her made quince jelly and it is very fragrant )

 If you look at an encyclopedia you will find that the quince is cultivated for a long time and the fruit used in food, and not only for jelly,  in some Mediterranean regions . I feel that this week we will pick quinces and apples of the old apple tree . No mean feat when the old apple tree is tall.

 Hey! We have nothing without effort!

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Quinces and apples

  1. cocosangel says:

    Thanks for providing us with knowledge about the Quince.

  2. Heartafire says:

    I adore apple and Quince jellies. I love homemade jellies and preserves, bravo to Janine for her time and effort and love that I am sure she puts into these jams. They make beautiful Christmas presents wrapped with a bow. Lovely post, Michel. Love!

  3. L. Gail says:

    I’ve never seen a quince.

  4. whyzat says:

    Gosh, it’s time to harvest already? This summer seemed to speed by. I’m ready for cooler weather, though. It’s been a hundred degrees here for many days.
    I’ve seen quince but never tasted it. The jelly looks good.

  5. Gill McGrath says:

    What a wonderful harvest of quinces and apples for this year’s new preserves and aromatic jellies. The pot of quince jelly made by Janine looks such a wonderful color and now you will have rows of them on the shelf. I love the tall hollyhocks by the tall apple tree….. be careful up that ladder Michel ! ❤

  6. Humor_Me_Now says:

    We have one apple tree and we have to use ladders of course—some are very hard to reach. I let my wife do it now.

    As usual, love your photos and life

    blessings

    frank

  7. mrswrangler says:

    Have fun picking. I like cinnamon apples.

  8. jstnotherday says:

    Hey Michel, I thought you weren’t allowed in the trees anymore? 🙂
    Please be careful.
    Are the quince’s like pears? I’ve never heard of a quince before.
    Your description had me thinking of guava jelly. I don’t know what a guava is, but I always liked when I could purchase the jelly.
    I would love to be able to try quince jelly. 🙂
    I am wondering, what is the pink… looks like a flower… in the tree? I know it can not be a flower, and it is most certainly not your hat. 😀

    • Lynn, quinces look lke pear but they are not . The specie has not the same area and is native from south America (Mexico ) instead of Quince is around the Mediterranean sea .. And it is not the same plant family.
      The pink on the picture before the last is a flower of hollyhocks at the end of the very long stalk. The other flowers are faded and are giving seeds.

    • cjjustice1 says:

      We had guava jelly in the Philippines. It is a small fruit. I’ve not seen guava jelly in stores (but haven’t really looked, either). I am seeing more Asian and S. American fruits and vegetables available here in the U.S. I have never seen a quince, nor do I know what it tastes like. I’ve often wondered … I wonder if I could find quince jelly in our stores here? Hmmm…. maybe I need to investigate! Greetings to you, Lynn. Have a great day.
      And if Michel sees this as well (I don’t know how this works on WordPress… thank you for another great look into life at your home! 🙂

  9. iampeacenow says:

    Wonderful photos. I’ve never had quince jelly. Now I’m curious to try it. Peace to you.

  10. blb1 says:

    I hope you are not climbing any trees now.

  11. nannyfountain says:

    Can you perhaps knock the fruit down with a stick of sorts? It is so dangerous when you climb trees! ❤ to all ❤

  12. Angela Im says:

    Ahhhh how lovely to have apple and quince trees! I wish I was there to help and taste them and the jelly!! Isla and I fly back to beijing tomorrow! Through Copenhagen. I will blog when I return! 😍😘

  13. I hope you have a wonderful harvest! ❤

  14. I see you and your Hat having adventures in the tree! 🙂
    What beautiful fruits and what wonderful companions they are to other foods! 🙂
    Be careful on your tree adventures!
    This post brought back memories of all the fruit trees we had when I was a little girl! 🙂
    Thank you so much for the birthday wishes you gave me, Michel! I’m celebrating all week! 😉 😛
    HUGS!!! and ❤ !!! 🙂

  15. It’s the middle of the week!
    Happy Hump Day! What do you call a camel with NO humps?!
    Humphrey
    HUGS!!! 😛
    PS…I have a long day of med testing today. Will let you know what I find out! 🙂

  16. mcbery says:

    It’s true we don’t usually get something without effort on our part. I’m curious how a quince tastes. I shall have to try it sometime. 🙂

  17. We have an apple tree but I don’t think we will have apples this year. Our tree seems to produce every other year. Last year we had lots of them, so we had pies and cakes and applesauce. We gave about 80 pounds of apples to the local food shelf. Apples are a sure sign that fall is coming!

  18. Cath says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever tasted quince before.
    Please be careful when you’re harvesting! Yes, I hope you’re not climbing any apple trees!

  19. Marilyn Thysell says:

    Quince jelly sounds wonderful. No longer make jams and jellies because of diabetes. But sometimes I buy a very small amount and sneak a taste or two 😀 Be careful when picking apples in your very tall tree. Apple jelly is wonderful too. Enjoy. love Marilyn

  20. sunsetdragon says:

    Oh that quince jelly looks good. Most of the apple trees out here on the sid of town I live in are deer app trees and the deers are fattening up for winter eating the apples.

  21. puffpop says:

    I always learn so much from your writings. You have such a love for gardening and Janine for cooking up all those lovely things from your own garden. You will live a long life in good health. I remember having Quince jelly and I’d like to have some right now…on a piece of toast or croissant…Yummm.

    Love,
    Votre amie,
    Francoise.

  22. I love Quince jelly so I found this post so interesting. Homemade jelly, jams, etc is always the best. 😉
    Hope you are having a lovely week. love, Elizabeth

  23. L. Marie says:

    That jelly looks delicious. I don’t think I’ve ever had it.

  24. Connie T says:

    The Elly looks great. I wish applle trees would grow where I live, they don’t.

  25. Marion says:

    What a fantastic team you and Janine are, Michel! Everything you do from your family life, to harvesting your wonderful garden is team work! ❤

  26. cjc22 says:

    Wow!! Quince jelly!! I sure miss being able to have a real garden. Also, not a lot of places to in Florida get cool enough for many of the fruit trees to do well. Of course we have all kinds of citrus fruit trees and bananas. Thanks for always sharing your wonderful family and all the things you folks do.
    Hugs and smiles, Char

  27. Peggy says:

    It would be interesting to taste quince jelly! 🙂

  28. marica0701 says:

    We got a little quince tree from our German neighbor last summer. We have no fruits yet. I wonder how long it takes for it to begin to grow fruit?

    Enjoy your harvest!

  29. julie essex says:

    Your garden bear some great veg and fruit, I love this time of year when there is plenty of fruit.My friend has just given me rhubarb which I am going to cook and freeze ready for the winter

  30. mimiwi2013 says:

    Michael, like some of the other commenters, I have never had quince jelly. I have heard of it, but don’t think I have ever seen it around here. I also agree with others that you should not be up on a ladder. Ken does not go up in anything higher than a step ladder that is more stable with it’s four legs. Being a mason in his younger years, he climbed many tall ladders—usually to repair chimneys, but will not do it anymore. At 79 he knows a fall would be disastrous! Please take care Michel. Perhaps some of your family could do this when they visit?? ❤

  31. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie! I’ve always known of quinces, we had a small tree in our yard when I was young, but I looked it up on the computer as you recommended and now I am more knowledgeable, More knowledgeable is always good! It seems that Eve may have tempted Adam with a quince as the apple had not been introduced in the garden at that time! It also has medicinal qualities as well.

    Whether you are picking apples or quinces your table will certainly be graced by your and Janines labors…..ILYM

    p.s. please do be careful!

  32. Zakiah says:

    I am sure the kitchen heavenly once the cooking of this delightful fruit occurs. Janine is so clever to do such an amazing job with all the various preserves.
    have a wonderful week Michel.

  33. Sartenada says:

    Interesting post indeed. Life is learning and today I learned about Quince. Thank You.

  34. Gracia McDairmant says:

    Our fruit trees did not produce much this year. Only 2 pears from our little pear tree, maybe 5 apples on the remaining trees (we lost some a couple of years ago when the produced so heavily.) And no quinces. That makes me sad. But we can always hope for next year. (L’annee prochaine) Is that right?

  35. AM says:

    Un goût incomparable que celui des coings. MIAM !!!!!
    Chanceux que vous êtes d’en cultiver et savourer chaque année!

    Amitiés, AM

  36. murisopsis says:

    I hope Janine will be making more Quince jelly! It is sad that so few people have the opportunity to sample quince. It is a fruit that has fallen out of fashion and I hope it does not disappear!

Leave a Reply

