Wrapped in a halo.

Enveloppé d’un halo.
Wrapped in a halo

English version below the pictures

La semaine dernière J ‘ arrachais les pommes de terre du sil sec et rocailleus de mon jardin. Ma femme Janine prit une photo de moi . je pense que je suis un peu flou sur cette photo . On dirait que je suis enveloppé d’un halo , non pas de sainteté, hélas , mais d’une sorte de brume de sueur. Le courage a été récompensé puisque deux jours plus tard il pleuvait des cordes et le pommes de terre auraient pourri

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

gardener in a kind of halo  of sweat      jardinier dans une sorte de halo de sueu

Last week in full heat I dug up potatoes from the dry rocky soil of my garden . My wife Janine took a photo of me. I think I look a bit blurred. It looked I was wrapped in a halo , not of sanctity alas , but of a kind of mist of sweat . The courage has been rewarded since two days later it poured cats and dogs and the potatoes would have rotten

I reste que le soir je rentrais à la maison, épuisé, le bas du dos douloureux mais sur le chemin du retour je fus encouragé par le réconfortant sourire d’une étoile rouge brillant sur le fond sombre d’un if. C ‘ était la fleur d’une rose trémière qui poussait à travers les branches d ‘un néflier.. Ma fatigue commençait à fondre.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Rose trémière                                      Hollyhock flower shining

 It remains at the night I was coming back home, exhausted with a sore low back . But on the way back I have been encouraged by the comforting smile of a red star shining on the dark background of yew. It was the flower of a Hollyhock growing through the branches of a Medlar. My tiredness started to melt.

Puis une chaise accueillante dans un coin ombreux acheva de me restaurer et je commençais à rêver avec délectation à l’ excellent souper qui m’ attendait à la maison .

Tout est bien équilibré dans un jardin

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Then a welcoming chair in a shadow corner completed to restore me and I started to dream with delectation to the excellent supper that was waiting for me at our home.

All is well balanced in a garden

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Wrapped in a halo.

  1. Yvonne says:

    You are like some kind of Saint! Saint Michel. I would imagine you enjoyed your well earned supper. Cheers from Australia! ❤

  2. puffpop says:

    The sight of the hollyhock brings cheer to my soul. I’ve always loved them. There is an indescrible quality about them…”old fashioned” “faithful” Thanks for sharing your joy. You keep your youth because of the garden and…Janine’s cooking.

    Love,
    votre amie,
    Francoise

  3. Kathy says:

    Hollyhocks remind me of my grandparents, and there still plants on my parent’s farm from seed from my grandparent’s garden. I love ‘found’ treasures in gardens –those things that flourish unexpectedly.

  4. mrswrangler says:

    That chair looks like a peaceful spot.

  5. Humor_Me_Now says:

    You look great MIchel. I grew potatoes once, and then the kept coming up, but smallere.

    blessings

    frank

  6. Heartafire says:

    Delightful photography such a lovely garden have a beautiful day .

  7. nannyfountain says:

    Such a peaceful post! Love to all ❤

  8. cocosangel says:

    You don’t look as if you had sweated Michel. But you do have a Halo, all the time. 🙂
    It must be interesting when you can garden and grow things, so you be proud of your produce.
    Take care ~ Angy

  9. L. Gail says:

    It is good to see you in the garden. The hollyhock is waving to you “Hello Michel!” to cheer you up from your hard work and Janine out of the garden back in the kitchen cooking supper for you!
    Summer has been very VERY hot and humid here. I can’t stand to get outside. Medicine I take (or thyroid problems) makes me miserable hot. I don’t visit many places because it is soooo hot. I stay in home with the air conditioner.

  10. blb1 says:

    It is wonderful you can still work in your garden! I like that Hollyhock and wish I could grow them.

  11. Zakiah says:

    I used to have hollyhocks in my garden a few years ago, but haven’t had them for a while now. Beautiful flowers. All tiredness dissolves with the colors and fragrance of the flowers in the garden, and then, to wait for a delicious meal…. that takes the cake.
    Have a great week, dear Michel.
    Love,
    Zakiah.

  12. jstnotherday says:

    Ah Michel, so good to see you. I love a garden. There is no better place. I especially love the invitation of the chair in the shade. What a refreshment to the spirit. 🙂
    I did not know that potatos would rot from too much water. I learn something new everyday… at least I try. 🙂

  13. Beautiful photos! Beautiful places! And handsome Michel, and his hat, having potato adventures! Perfect timing for potato “picking”! 🙂
    Veggies and fruits from the garden always taste heavenly! 🙂
    You do have a halo!
    Oh…don’t get too excited, I have one, too. 😉 😛
    But, okay…mine is held up with horns! 😈

  14. Oops, I hit “send” by mistake!
    Wanted to leave an angel 😇
    and
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    • I prefer the angel ! 🙂 Your humor is priceless, Carolyn! 🙂

      • Your post made me think of one of my favorite quotes by a favorite author:
        A. A. Milne said, “What I say is that, if a man really likes potatoes, he must be a pretty decent sort of fellow.”
        Also, made me think of my Dad saying, “Be careful what you do in the garden, the potatoes have eyes and the corn has ears!” 😉 😛

  15. Lyne's View says:

    All this in one wonderful place? Your halo has always glowed from my view. (pats heart, and points to your garden)

  16. Lowie says:

    How did Femme Janine prepare the lovely potatoes? You’re looking marvelous, Michel!

    • The supper was simple : Janine has cooked “pommes de terre en robe des champs “( potatoes in fields dress) . Smoked ham was also in the menu . . In your plate you add oïl, vinegar and some chopped shallot. Afterwards there are cheese and dessert . with a glass of wine

  17. Peggy says:

    I absolutely love hollyhocks ~ we used to make dolls from the blossoms and buds ~

  18. Enjoy your fresh potatoes! I am sure they will be delicious!

  19. mimiwi2013 says:

    I was shocked when I saw your picture, Michel!! I knew it must be very warm out for you not to be wearing your jacket! I showed the picture to Ken, and he said he had never seen you without it. At least you DID wear your hat! I am teasing you a little bit, Michel. Our soil here is so very sandy that it dries out and needs constant water for a garden—-flowers or food. We decided the flowers are prettier and less work, so we gave up on the vegetable garden after a couple years. I do think you have the “ethereal” halo. You must have one in order to get your church choir to produce such beautiful sounds!! That takes a special talent. The director does make a difference!!

  20. One of my life ambitions is to visit your garden.

  21. whyzat says:

    Flower blossoms can be encouraging, indeed. When I was a child, we used to put two hollyhocks together and make a little, short-lived doll. Those were the days!

  22. Your potatoes look beautiful! I would love to see your garden in person. You do such a good job. God bless you, my friend! 🙂

  23. Marilyn Thysell says:

    Your reward for such hard work in your veggie garden is the beautiful hollyhock backed by the yew tree. God know when to send us something to lift our spirits. God Bless you. love Marilyn

  24. guestbrief says:

    The way you find beauty in your life encourages me! A “halo” of shimmering sweat, a “star” hollyhock shining in the darkness of the yew, a comforting chair in a shady corner!!!! How beautiful!! I ❤ you!

  25. Love fresh food from the garden.
    Also love the chair in the shade.
    Maybe a halo of sweetness instead of sweatness. 😉 hugs

  26. guestbrief says:

    I posted a little entry today. I hope you like it. ❤

  27. mcbery says:

    Loved this post Michael! What a peaceful spot with the chair. Perfect place to relax. I wonder if mosquitoes bother you there?

  28. Larry says:

    Your efforts and hard work certainly pay off in the end, Michel! The hollyhock is beautiful, and I’m sure the potatoes are delicious! Cheers, my friend!

  29. Rachel Geselman-Mocherman says:

    My dear Michel,
    All your work has paid off with the goods from your garden. I have brought in peas and green beans this week. I did not plant many things this year. I hope later to have some carrots, peppers and tomatoes. We shall see how it all turns out.
    We have had some hot days, but today it is much cooler. I can take these days better.
    Enjoy your week!
    Love, Rachel 🌹

    • Gardening gives us a lesson of modesty. We work hard but we have never the certainty of a good production. But is it not marvellous to make out from the ground our food ?

  30. Maggie says:

    Hello my friend. I wondered where you were. I miss you post on Xanga. It has almost shut down over there. I might see if I can figure out how to set up a blog over here. Take care of yourself

  31. L. Marie says:

    A beautiful look at your garden! I wish I were more of a gardener. My dad gardens.

  32. cjc22 - Char says:

    Michel, I marvel at the way you can grow such good and beautiful plants. I hope dinner was just what you expected and needed.

  33. attatudy says:

    I love your hat. 😀 and it sounds like you had a very productive day. love Tudy

  34. How lovely and poetic! Makes me wish I had time to garden and enjoy supper (I frequently skip it or have cereal).

  35. Hollyhocks are one of my favorite flowers. They are very welcoming. 🙂

  36. How are you doing, Michel!?
    I hope you and Janine are having a beautiful weekend!
    So far my whee-kend hasn’t involved potatoes or halos! 😉 😛
    ❤ and HUGS!!! 😀

  37. neilc693 says:

    The photos show up on this post again! I can’t see the images in the recent entries unfortunately.
    I was confused about the corned beef until I saw the tin. Now, potted corned beef is not real corned beef! Rather give me a good brisket, well-brined and spiced, nicely marbled, and slowly braised to perfection! With dijon mustard or horseradish . . . and fresh cabbage and potatoes.

  38. julie essex says:

    There has been enough rain to water your garden 🙂 there is nothing better than new potatoes with butter on

  39. sunsetdragon says:

    What a wonderful garden you have Michel and eating foraminous own harvest is so much tastier than store bought. Stay cool and enjoy.

  40. cjjustice1 says:

    I always enjoy your stories of your garden. You and Janine take such diligent care of it, and you reap the benefits! Perhaps that halo truly was for you! 🙂 Love, Carolyn

  41. Gill McGrath says:

    Such a delicious garden and so lovely to see the new potatoes. A lovely taste of summer…. I can smell the mint and taste the butter!!!!

  42. Michel is in his garden and all is right with the world. 🙂

  43. AM says:

    Jardin d’Eden, à n’en pas douter!!!

Leave a Reply

