Corned beef .

Corned beef

English version below the picture

Hier soir 29 Juin , Janine et moi soupions et à mi-repas je constatais  qu’il en restait encore une bonne part à manger. Tout à coup la lumière se fit dans mon esprit . J’ étais en train de manger des tranches de corned- beef  avec de la laitue et du pain ! C’était un événement car je n’ en avais pas mangé depuis des années , peut-être 20 ou 30 ans. Je mangeais de l’ Histoire .. Inutile de vous dire que je pris une photo de ce qui restait..

Histoire,  parce que je connaissais le corned- beef appelé aussi bully-beef ou «  singe «  ( quel horrible mot )  depuis la fin de la deuxième guerre mondiale , réintroduit en France par les troupes alliées. Combien de souvenirs de mes jeunes année  en 1944, 1945. Je suis allé sir Google pour en savoir plus et j’ai trouvé que cette fameuse préparation de viande était connue en Angleterre et en France depuis bien longtemps mais j’ étais trop jeune avant la guerre pour la connaître. Comme ils étaient heureux ces Français affamés de pouvoir manger du corned-beef en 1944 ! Puis progressivement la civilisation a changé et cette noiurriture historique tombe en déshérence mais pas totalement puisque Janine lève encore le drapeau du corned-beef !!

C’ est pourquoi après avoir pris la photo j’ ai célébré l’événement en buvant une petite lampée de ce vin de Cahors que vous voyez dans mon verre 🙂

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

at mid meal : corned beef, kettuce, bread (baguetteà, water, wine of Cahors

Yesterday June 29 night Janine and I were at mid meal and we still had another part of the same food to eat . All of a sudden, the light comes in my mind ! I was eating slices of corned beef !!.. with fresh lettuce and bread !!! It was an event because I had not eaten this for years, perhaps 20 or 30 years ago . I was eating the History. . Useless to say I took a photo of  what remained to eat

   History,  because I knew the corned beef, called also bully beef or again monkey!!!( what a horrible word) after the war II,  re-introduced in France by the British, Canadian and American troops . How many memories of my tender ages in 1944 , 1945 ! I googled to know more and found that this famous meat was known in France and Great Britain for long but I was too young before war II to know it.. How happy hungry people of France were to eat Corned beef in 1944! Then progressively the civilization changed and this historical food was in desherence but not totally since Janine still raises the flag of corned beef !

   It is why after taking the picture I celebrated the event in  tasting a bit of wine of Cahors that you see in my glass ! 🙂

 

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Corned beef .

  1. blb1 says:

    I’ve not eaten such from a can. We get SPAM in a can like that. I think I’ve bought the beef in a package as once I made it with a cream gravy so Wil could have it on toast.

    btw: my web page is up and running.

  2. Humor_Me_Now says:

    HI Michel. I still think a lot about WW2. I was 8 when Pearl was attacked.

    That is interestinga bout the history of the entrance of corned beef into France. I head a song the other day–Waking up in Paris. I told my wife I wish we had done that. I started listening to a radio program when I was a teenager about France. I loved it.

    Wishing you the best,

    frank

  3. Rachel Geselman-Mocherman says:

    I do love corned beef. We have it two or three times a year.

  4. puffpop says:

    Corn beef and cabbage are very popular here on St. Patrick’s Day. I do like Corn Beef and sauerkraut sandwiches.
    I did not know this history. So very interesting. It’s one of the things always served at Jewish Delicatessens here…Especially popular in upstate NY. Thank you for sharing this tidbit of history.

    Love,
    votre amie,
    Francoise

  5. weggieboy says:

    It’s not one of my favorites, but an occasional corned beef and cabbage meal with boiled potatoes and dinner rolls can be a treat!

    As mentioned above, it is a traditional St. Patrick’s Day meal here in the USA, and a local military museum group puts of a corned beef and cabbage meal to raise money in support of that museum.

  6. L. Gail says:

    When I was a tiny girl, there was a train wreck and one of the cars on the train carried cabbage…which spilled all over when it turned over. The cabbage was being sold at a very small price so my Mom and Dad stocked up on a lot. There was corned beef and cabbage for days! Still one of my favorite meals. Loved your story. 🙂 (not getting much of a chance to work on painting right now but will get back to it soon.)

  7. cocosangel says:

    I love corned beef too. And I make it for my daughter as well as she loves it.

  8. Michel, you make even small things seems special. You always find something to appreciate. Thank you for sharing this story. It reminds me of how much we have to be grateful everyday. God bless you.

  9. Is it from a can?!
    “Monkey”…HA!
    🙈 🙉 🙊
    I already act like a monkey! 😉 😛
    Looks like our American Spam in a can! 🙂
    I love corned beef with cabbage! But, only get it a couple times each year. Mostly on St. Pat’s Day!
    🍀 🍀 🍀
    Yay for celebrating! We should do it every day! 🙂
    HUGS!!! and ❤ !!! 🙂

  10. jstnotherday says:

    It is interesting how the memories can come flooding back to us.
    I could easily get in the mood for some corned beef now… especially a deli sandwich. 🙂
    Just the other night I got in the mood for some white wine and had half a glass. I guess I was just celebrating me and another day? 😉

  11. nannyfountain says:

    I really, really like corned beef. I think we too were introduced to it in post war years~ ❤

  12. julie essex says:

    I have eaten lots of tins of corned beef 😀 its lovely mixed in with mashed potato , put back in the oven with cheese and tomato on top , left until its all golden. I am really looking forward to the Tour starting , I see its coming to Amiens again 🙂

  13. sunsetdragon says:

    Sounds wonderful Michel and have a wonderful week ahead.

  14. Tribo, OCarm says:

    it is indeed true that food brings us down memory lane… and there is so much history in food 😀 makes eating worth contemplating 😀

    • Yes Tribo a menu can be seen like the traduction of a history and also of a civilization : in interaction with multiple factors , physical and human..
      By the way I do not know how to join you . On WP it is impossible and I lost your xanga address . If you want, you can send an e.mail with your website address to help me. Thanks

  15. I finally made it over to WordPress and here you are eating history and drinking a lovely wine. Cheers!

  16. We like corned beef but never in a can. It is always simmered on the stove for hours! ☺️

  17. A few years ago, the City of St. Paul, MN, (our State Capitol) dedicated a new memorial to World War II veterans. It was a wonderful event! They had many activities and foods related to the time of WWII. The longest lines were at the SPAM truck with almost all the veterans lining up to get some of this curious processed ham product with was a mainstay of the diet of the soldiers during the war. It’s a product that is not held in very high regard anymore, except in Hawaii where it is a delicacy, but it was being gobbled up that day!

  18. By the way, your meal looks delicious!

  19. mcbery says:

    Yummy. I always enjoy your posts and visits! Thanks!

  20. Carlo says:

    I understand there is some diffrence in corned beef in a can and the corned beef they eat in the stages. Memories are good to be cherished.

    Amitie

    Carlo

  21. Cheri Herald says:

    They sell corned beef in a can here. I have been known to eat it. Never thought to pair it with a wine, though 🙂 Love that! Oh, I understand the Hawaiians love their Spam, introduced during the war.

  22. Zakiah says:

    Dear Michel, I love corned beef on pastrami bread with sauerkraut.
    Such a joy to suddenly remember memories of the past, no?

  23. mimiwi2013 says:

    Ken and I also enjoy corned beef and cabbage with boiled potatoes and a horseradish sauce (also some mustard to dip bites of the meat into). around St. Patricks Day. That is when the corned beef is cheapest, too. Years ago, when it wasn’t easy to find corned beef here in our area, I would buy it in cans. We liked to make a couple different baked dishes with it. I think the meat in the cans was imported from Argentina. We do not eat it much anymore because the price has risen quite a bit, and the fat on the meat is not good for me. It still makes my mouth water to think of it, though!! Oh, and Spam? We used to eat that once in a while, but it was not a favorite of ours. It is made from a pig’s shoulder and ham, mixed with potato starch, salt and a little sugar, put into a can and cooked in the can (the way I understand it). I always found it lacking much flavor, but it was inexpensive.

  24. Marion says:

    Boy, haven’t eaten corned beef in many years! Interesting you’ve not eaten it in over 20 years. 🙂 Interesting your memories of having enjoyed this in your youth. Simple foods but still very nice!

  25. Never had corned beef from a can… Spam from a can… fried, but that is some icky stuff. We love corned beef sandwiches here in the states and it is a very popular deli sandwich here. We have a place that we love to eat corned beef sandwiches with sauerkraut piled on top that we drive two hours to order and eat them. I always order a side of mashed potatoes… 🙂

    • We eat corned beef from time to time in a plate with knife and fork with bread ane lettuce as you see in the picture but at the total it is the composition of a sandwich. 🙂

  26. blb1 says:

    Just popped in to see if you got the notify email I had been able to post another entry?

  27. Heartafire says:

    Wonderful nostalgia and delicious photo.

    • Heartafire says:

      Corned beef was a mainstay meal for the American armed forces. Served with eggs over toast and referred to as s— on a shingle 🙂

  28. While I’ve had spam (and it’s okay) I’ve never had corn beef..sounds interesting. Loved the history behind it. Great photos. Thanks for sharing w/us.

  29. blb1 says:

    ryc: Blayney is indeed of Welsh ancestry. 🙂 Bit of Irish tucked in as well. lol

  30. mlbncsga says:

    This sounds a bit like a Reuben sandwich…made with cornbeef and cabbage and cheese on rye bread, everyone in my family likes this except me, I think it’s the rye bread I don’t care for much.. But the wine of Cahors would be pleasing with any meal! I’ve posted one entry on my wordpress, I’m trying to keep up with the internet times, come by if you please! ilym

  31. AM says:

    Mon papa nous a raconté aussi les rations de “singe” qui leur étaient servies alors qu’il était à l’armée pendant la guerre … Et maman plus tard cuisinait le Corned Beef divinement bien. Tout comme Johann par ailleurs 🙂 En y ajoutant vinaigre, poivre et oignons, c’est un grand plaisir !

  32. I nominated you for Liebster Award..Please see my last post about it. 😉

Leave a Reply

