tomorrow’s food. Bon appetit!

La nourriture du futur ! Bon appétit!

English version below the picture

J’ ai reçu hier de ma fille Véronique ( à droite sur la photo prise en Août 2014, à côté de sa sœur Isabelle ) le message suivant :

“… Je te souhaite une très joyeuse fête des pères et pour l’occasion t’envoie toute ma tendresse et…. ma dernière expérience culinaire !!
Cela a beau être sûrement l’alimentation de demain, c’est plutôt sec, pas très appétant et avec tendance à rester bloqué dans la gorge !!!
Je suis bien certaine que pour la fête des pères, tu échapperas à ces tarentules, vers et autres grillons, pour profiter de la cuisine si délicieuse de Maman !…”

Voir en bas de page  le menu :

I have received yesterday from my daughter Véronique (right in photo taken in August 2014, at the side of her sister Isabelle ) the following message:
” ….I wish you a very happy Father’s Day and for the occasion I send you all my love and my last dining experience …. !!

This may well be surely tomorrow’s food, but this is rather dry, not very palatable and tends to get stuck in the throat !!!
I am sure for Father’s Day, you will escape these tarantulas, worms and crickets to enjoy  the so delicious cuisine of Mom!….”

And here is below the menu, pictured :

tarentula

tarentula

tarantula

alimentation hanneton
cockchafer

alimentation grillon

cricket

I know you think of John the Baptist who ate crikets and wild honey in the desert but nevertheless I wish you : Bon appétit ! Cheers ! 

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to tomorrow’s food. Bon appetit!

  1. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Thanks for the suggestion, but I prefer other menu choices!

    I trust you had a nice day, Michel!

    Blessings

    Frank

  2. blb1 says:

    Perhaps if I were blindfolded I could pop one in my mouth, but highly unlikely. LOL

  3. Tree says:

    I don’t think my doctor would permit me to eat such things. Sorry! 🙂

  4. guestbrief says:

    Happy Father’s Day!
    I think even John the Baptist only ate them out of necessity. 🙂 A “Naturalists” menu? I’m sure Janine gave you a much more palatable menu. Blessings!

  5. cocosangel says:

    Happy Father’s Day Michel
    Sorry I had to skip the part of the ants because I can be squirmy to see them.
    Glad you had a good time with your daughters.

  6. Happy Father’s Day, Michel!!! 🙂 You are such a great dad! 🙂

    Ew 😮 and Ha! on the food! 😛 It would take a LOT of honey for some people to get those creepy crawly bugs down!

    I hear crickets taste nutty! And maybe people are nutty for eating those sweet little bugs! 😉 😕

    Where is the best place to buy bugs?!
    At a flea market! 😛

    🐛 🐞 🐝 HUGS!!! (Bug HUGS!!!) 😀

  7. Big laugh, Carolyn! 🙂

  8. Yvonne says:

    That would be the day when I suddenly went on a diet, I think. Shudder.

  9. jstnotherday says:

    I don’t know…. I just don’t know what to say….. lol
    imagine that, me without words?
    I hope you had a very enjoyable Sunday, and wish you a Happy Father’s Day even if you do not celebrate this as a holiday in France. 🙂
    Do you celebrate this holiday in France?

    I don’t know that, even if I was starving to death, if I could swallow any bug. 😮

  10. I could not go there… ewwwww. Now the top photo, yes please… 🙂

  11. Tribo, OCarm says:

    wow… talk about exotic food… well, happy feast of John the Baptist (that’s tomorrow, the 24th) 😀

  12. nannyfountain says:

    I have heard that bugs contain lots of protein. I could not do that! YUK! ❤

  13. Oh, no! I am glad that was not your Father’s Day dinner. 🙂 Hope you did have a happy day reflecting on your beautiful family and the life you have shared with Janine, raising your children. God bless you!

  14. Larry says:

    Oh wow! That menu is certainly….different!! Not sure it would fit my palate! lol….I wish you a belated happy Father’s Day, Michel! Cheers!

  15. When I was a child, eating insects was quite popular in the United States for a short time. Most of them were eaten covered in chocolate, which I imagine made them more palatable. I have never wanted to try them, though!

  16. L. Gail says:

    Dipped in honey maybe crunch and sweet? No thank you! 🙂

  17. Hope you had a GREAT Father’s Day. The food? Um yeah, I think I’ll stick to other types of protein. lol

  18. CLynn says:

    Hi Michel, About the bugs… I had a friend where I used to live that was an entomologist, and they had a function each year at the college where they would cook up the insects to eat. His wife found it very interesting. I could not bring myself to eat, (or to even suck on) the insects. 😛
    I was wondering… Do I remember that your daughter also, is an entomologist?

  19. Marilyn Thysell says:

    No thank you Michel. No bug eating for me unless that is the ONLY food found on earth LOL. Enjoy your summer with Janine and the lovely meals she cooks. love Marilyn

  20. Happy Father’s Day, Michel! I hope Janine made you something tastier than that. Your girls have beautiful eyes.

    — Julie Hamilton

  21. Zakiah says:

    Dear Michel,
    I hope you had a good day on Father’s day. I am sure the food that you had that day, was more palatable than the pictures you have shown of the insects.
    Thank you for your comment on my post.
    Love,<3
    Zakiah.

  22. mimiwi2013 says:

    I am like Nancy Hislop up above. I remember a few girls coming to high school and eating chocolate fudge that had ants throughout. Was not enticing to me. But I believe we all eat insects during our lives—-we just do not realize it. I had a co-worker once who had worked in a food processing plant, and she said she would never eat creamed corn, because she saw what got ground up in the process. I am sure this is true of other things we eat.

  23. mlbncsga says:

    Mornin Glorie! Véronique and Isabelle are so beautiful!, and so thoughtful to send you such delectable dining photographs =) As Nancy Clark said, it was fashionable in the 60″s to eat chocolate covered crickets and such, I admit to trying them myself…it was sorta like eating chocolate covered peanuts, not bad at all, of course my 15 year old palate was quite different than my 60 year old one. I do hope you had a wonderful Fathers Day and today the Feast day of Saint John the Baptist – it is also Barry and my 43rd anniversary! ILYM

  24. sunsetdragon says:

    Oh my Michel not for this old lady at all.

  25. Cath says:

    My children and I were just reading about the birth of John the Baptist!
    My friend had some bugs for snack when he was in Thailand. Hahaha.. I think they are sold as street snack in Vietnam or Cambodia too. 😀 Good source of protein. Many years back, I tried a grasshopper. But it wasn’t crunchy anymore (it was deep fried, and would have tasted like a cracker) and the legs were stuck between my teeth and didn’t go down my throat very well. 😦

  26. I think I’ll just stick to beef and chicken! I did try fried grass hoppers once. They were crunchie.
    Hope you had a very happy Fathers Day! 😀

  27. puffpop says:

    NON!. Now that type of cuisine would most certainly result in a loss of weight for me! It’s not at all what I think of when I imagine French Cuisine….NO NO NO! My dad had tasted chocolate covered grasshoppers and ants when he had traveled. He said that ants were crunchy like peanuts.

  28. puffpop says:

    I just read Nancy Hislop’s comment. I have lived in the USA and NEVER but NEVER in all the 80 years that I’ve lived in the USA, (Cleveland, (the Midwest) Chicago (also Midwest) Atlanta (south ) and Florida (south) have insects been a menu item. I don’t know where Nancy lived or who her friends were but the only ones that I know that ate insects were missionaries …

  29. sistermae says:

    I think I will skip eating bugs, but give me a bowl of fruit and I am in heaven

  30. Rachel Geselman-Mocherman says:

    Not sure about the food?! I do think you are a well-loved father and grandfather!!!

  31. marica0701 says:

    If I had been told that I was only allowed the food that John the Baptist had, I’d say that I think I’d rather drink saltwater 😛 hahaha

    Interesting menu!

    • Drink saltwater ? Marica, you make me think of Alain Bombard ( see Goodle in English version). He crossed the ocean in nourrishing himself with the plankton of the sea and he found the water drinkable into the fishes !! 🙂

  32. HA! 😀 ! I saw several crickets last night, Michel, and I thought of you. I told them I was not going to eat them, but them live on to see another day. They chirped, “thank you!” 😛

  33. Rio says:

    J’ai eu l’occasion d’essayer de manger quelques insectes qui viennent de Thailande. Ils ne sont pas vraiment appétisant mais c’était suprenant quand je les ai mangé parce qu’ils ont le gout de noix, en fait. Pas trop mal du tout. 🙂

    J’espère que tu as un bon fête des peres, Michel!

  34. Carlo says:

    Can be the food of the future,but I am from the past. I keep to vermicello( little Worms)

    Amitie

    Carlo

  35. Hello carlo on mange aussi des vermicelles en France , dans la soupe ( soupe aux vermicelles )
    Herei an english link http://allrecipes.com/recipe/vermicelli-noodle-bowl/

Leave a Reply

