Amiens Cathedral such I feel it.

La cathédrale d’ Amiens comme je la ressens.
Amiens Cathedral such I feel it.

English version below the picture.

Le joyau de la ville d’Amiens où je vis est la cathédrale – . C’ est la plus grande cathédrale gothique de France..Elle est  dédiée à Notre Dame. Les photos de l’ extérieur comme de l’intérieur montrent sa parfaite harmonie , pas de mélange de styles . Cela est dû à la rapidité de sa construction , de 40 à 50 ans au XIII ème siècle . La façade avec ses trois portails est ornée d’un très grand nombres de  sculptures petites et grandes  qui sont des leçons bibliques. Il faut ses jours pour tout voir et comprendre. On parle d’ailleurs de la « Bible d’Amiens ». . le chevet est aussi un modèle de l’ architecture gothique . .

<
Amiens cathedral      la cathédrale d’Amiens   Photo M.Fauquet 2010


The front . La façade   Photo Thierry Fauquet 2010

The jewel of the town of Amiens where I live ( Picardy, northern Franc is the cathedral.. It is the largest gothic cathedral of France. It is dedicated to Notre Dame ( Our Lady ). The photos of the outside ( above ) but also of the inside ( below) show a perfect architectural harmony. No mixing of style . This can be explained by the quickness of the construction , from 40 to 50 years in the XIII th century . The front with its three portals is decorated by a lot of statues , small and large that have a biblical meaning .Many days are needed to see and understand . People speak of the “ Bible of Amiens “ about this. The chevet is also a model of gothic architecture .

Mais ce que j’ aime le plus est de me trouver dans cette cathédrale quand elle est remplie d’un immense peuple . Dans cette foule de 2000 personnes  qui se presse sous la haute voûte de la nef culminant à 42 mètres chacun peut se sentir comme faisant part de cette communauté  chrétienne qui d’âge en âge constitue le corps du Christ sur terre. Et si vous levez les yeux pendant que se déroule la messe vous vous perdez dans cette lumière en haut du chœur où viennent se fondre les prières des hommes du temps présent avec le chant des âmes de ceux qui nous ont précédés ici depuis des siècles .  Ces vieilles cathédrales sont des lieux sur cette terre  où souffle l’ esprit . A la sortie les gens se sentent transformés.


The crowd inside the cathedral, La foule dans la cathédrale  M. Fauquet 2010

But what I love the most is to be in this cathedral when it is filled with an immense crowd . In that crowd of 2000 people who press each other under the 138 feet  high vault , everyone may feel itself like being part of the Christian community which from age to age forms Christ’ body on earth . And if you rise the eyes during the mass you become lost in this special light in the high of the choir in which the present time  human’s prayers are melting with the song of the souls of those who were here before us from centuries and centuries . Those old cathedrals are one of the places on earth where the Spirit is blowing . We we see the people transformed when they get out of there.

  Le 23 mai dernier j’ ai fait une courte video d’une cerémonie où 127 adultes demandaient la confirmation .Le sous-titres de la video perment de reconnaître les différentes phase . La cathédrale était vibrante de vie et d’amour et les gens aussi.

Lately at the eve of Pentecost May 23 there was a moving celebration . 127 adults asked the confirmation. The cathedral was crowded . I made a short video. This is like you were there . You will recognize easily  the successive parts :
1-The call by the bishop to the demanders , one to one . They answer : here I am –like the young Samuel in 1 Samuel 3
2_the profession of faith  ( creed)
3-the la
ying on of hands, invoking the Holy Spirit.
4-
he annointing, rite to receive the Holy Spirits and his gifts

5-the communion
6-and the end with exit .

The cathedral was vibrant of life  and love and people too.

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in architecture middle Age, spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Amiens Cathedral such I feel it.

  1. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Michel that was simply beautiful. I really enjoyed the video–it was very moving. It is so nice to think Christians have been doing that there for cernturies. Thanks for sharing.

    blessings

    frank

  2. blb1 says:

    I left a comment earlier, obviously something ate it. 🙂

  3. cocosangel says:

    I wrote about this Cathedral of Notre Dame. It is an experience i would never forget. I visited this church long before I got married, and prayed that I find a good man and have a long lasting marriage.
    Today I have been married to my husband for 30 years!

  4. marica0701 says:

    Wow, it would certainly be an amazing and lovely experience to worship in such a beautiful and majestic cathedral!

  5. nannyfountain says:

    The beauty is only second to the feeling of holiness ❤

  6. This is SO beautiful, Michel! Thank you for sharing it with us! The video was very moving…I imagine worshiping there is a life changing experience! 🙂
    How you doing today?!
    I had a family member who had surgery today (Tuesday) so I volunteered to drive them, stay with them, help afterwards, etc., so I left home before 6:30 a.m. and I am just now back and settling in at home for the night. I’m pooper-ed and ready to sleep!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  7. Lowie says:

    I love the way the priests are tapping their feet to the music. 🙂 The cathedral is so magnificent, what a backdrop to reflect in. I also love, dear Michel, that we can communicate through WordPress and Facebook! ❤

  8. Tim says:

    Such a beautiful place… I remember when you posted this on Xanga five years ago. It’s wonderful to see such a crowded church!

  9. rio says:

    Salut, Michel! Tu as déjà quitté xanga? Je viens de voir ton nouveau blog dans mon facebook.

    Tu as une magnifique cathédrale. La deuxième photo me rappelle un peu la cathedrale de Notre Dame de Paris.

    J’espère que tout va bien avec toi et ta famille.

    Bises,
    Rio

  10. cuteandcurls says:

    I hope someday I get to visit this cathedral. I absolutely love gothic structured buildings and I have a curious mind to know what is inside 🙂 Thank you for sharing Michel 🙂 ❤

  11. sunsetdragon says:

    What a wonderful place so full of inspiration and miracles.

  12. Zakiah says:

    The architecture of the cathedral is magnificent. Churches and cathedrals in Europe, are amazing in their beauty and detail. Thank you Michel, I can see how mesmerized one can get when you come inside the ‘house of God’.

  13. Christine says:

    I was so enamored by these cathedrals when we were in France and I am sorry we didn’t make it to Amiens. I didn’t know it was the largest and built so quickly too. I very much enjoyed your post and the video. Thank you, Michel.
    Love, Christine

  14. Just wanted to say Hello to you, Michel! I hope you and Janine had a wonderful weekend! 🙂
    I’m so glad you are here on WordPress! 🙂
    Can you believe it’s June already!?
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    • Thanks Carolyn . But you know after 14 years on Xanga I have to adapt myself to WordPress . Fortunately ancient xanga friends such you support me . :).

      • cjjustice1 says:

        I agree with Carolyn, Michel! I’m so happy to have you both over here. I was on Xanga for about 9-1/2 years, and so to have such dear friends as you both here, makes it easier to switch. I too am having to adapt to WP, as there are many differences here. 🙂

      • Yes, I understand, Michel. I spent about ten years on Xanga and I loved the community there. It took some time…but I adapted to WP and I love the people I’ve met here!
        I’m SO glad to be one of your ancient Xanga friends! 🙂
        HUGS and<3 !!! 🙂

  15. cjjustice1 says:

    Your cathedral is so very beautiful – both outside and inside! That was a large group of adults being confirmed! Thank you for sharing – and for making it so clear by your explanations in both French and in English. I really appreciate that so much! You really had a good video throughout the whole time! I am guessing that this was one time you didn’t sing in the choir! 🙂 With love ❤ Carolyn 🙂

  16. Rachel Geselman-Mocherman says:

    Whenever I see this fortress, this refuge, I think of you. You and the building are connected.
    The days are warm and there is a wonderful breeze blowing through the window. I hope your days go well! – Rachel 🌸

  17. Rachel Geselman-Mocherman says:

    When I see the building , I think of you. You are connected.
    The days are warm. There is a wonderful breeze coming through the window. I hope your days go well , my friend!

  18. Later this year I will take a holiday near Amiens, in Marles-sur-Canche, Pas-de-Calais! One of my favourite parts of France!

  19. mlbncsga says:

    Thank You Michel, it was just like being there as you said! I loved the way the sun found a way in to shine down on you all, God surely gave his blessings. ILYM

Leave a Reply

