The garden athletes.

Les athlètes du Jardin

The garden athletes

 

English version below the pictures .

La semaine dernière ma femme Janine éclaircissait  les jeunes  carottes. Il y en avait six rangs sous voile. Cela demande patience et précision. Après cela les jeunes plantes sont bien séparées et ont la lace pour croître. Comme elle ne peut plus plier ses genoux elle courbe le dos, ce qui n’ est si bon que cela mais elle ne se plaint pas . Elle est courageuse.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Last week my wife Janine was thinning the young carrots . There were six rows under veil. This needs a lot of patience and also precision . After this  the young plants are separated and get the space where they are going to grow. As she cannot fold her knees anymore Janine bends her back , what is not so good but she was not complaining . She is courageous

Pendant qu’elle faisait cela ,je buttais les jeunes pommes de terre en ramenant le sol sur leurs tiges. Cela permet à la plante de donner des pousses latérales  souterraines e t sur elles se formeront les nouveaux tubercules . Comme ils sont souterrains , ils ne verdissent pas. Ainsi nous multiplions le nombre de nouveaux tubercules que nous dégusterons en Juillet.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMER

Whilst she was doing that , I was earthing up  the young potatoes by  drawing the soil up on their stems . This allows to the plant to give underground  sprouts on the side and on them the new tubers appears . And as they are underground they do not become green. So we multiply the number of fresh tubers that we will enjoy in July.

You know this is a special feeling to grow oneself the food in pulling  it from the ground. The food has a sweat taste. ; This is a coming back to the natural and the essential . Is not it?

Savez- vous que c’ est un sentiment très spécial de produire soi-même sa nourriture en l’ arrachant à la terre. Ellz  a le goût de la sueur . C’ est un retour au naturel  et à l’ essentiel, , n’ est – il pas vrai ?

About fauquetmichel

Pour une nouvelle aventure ?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to The garden athletes.

  1. cocosangel says:

    That is good that you both are able to do your own gardening and grow what you want.

  2. blb1 says:

    Michel I can’t believe that does not hurt your back. I can’t rake, or hoe or dig. Then again my problem is L4-L5 of the spine.

    Home grown food I grew up with and miss now. One year I grew tomatoes, the tomato worms found the patch and I never grew them again.

  3. sunsetdragon says:

    How wonderful is that you both are out there in your garden tending it with love and care.
    Oh my that look slick such back breaking work bending over for Janine, bending over to thin the young carrots.
    An act of love like this never brings forth a complaint.
    And you my friend are also putting in a painful task of love.
    Your garden is wonderful and as you said, what we grow ourselves has such a sweeter taste.
    Tke care of yourselves and your garden.

  4. puffpop says:

    Oh how wonderful….Fresh produce from the garden and I know Janine is a great cook! The French have such a fine reputation for excellent cuisine! Yum…
    Yes, indeed bending over like that is very hard on the back. She is a trooper. My mom was like that…working in the garden until her late 80’s but she loved it so much, it was worth the discomfort. Gardening is a labor of love….God is smiling because you are taking such loving care of what He has provided!

    Love,
    votre amie,
    Francoise.

  5. Humor_Me_Now says:

    Good Evening, Michel

    I raised potatoes once and loved it. The do taste better grown that way. My folks sold 100 pound sacks of potatoes in our fruit stand.

    I agree with the others–nice you can both work in your garden.

    blessings

    frank

  6. guestbrief says:

    Yes! truly you are both athletes and it keeps you young! Thank you for your gardening note! ❤
    love,
    Rhonda

  7. nannyfountain says:

    The wonders of the soil and earth that God has given us to enjoy. You and Janine know how to utilize God’s wonders! ❤
    Nancy

  8. Wonderful, Michel! Yay for garden athletes! 🙂 Gardens are good for the heart, soul and body! 🙂

    I love my Summer garden! I call it “The Garden of Weedin'”! Ha! 😛
    The veggies are so much better and tastier than anything you can buy in a grocery store. 🙂

    Watch out bending over in the garden…them potatoes have eyes! 😮 And watch what you say in the garden…that corn has ears! 😮 Ha! 😛

    ❤ and HUGS!!! 😀

  9. Rachel Geselman-Mocherman says:

    You both work so hard at your garden. I hate to say it, but I do not have one thing in the ground. I am afraid of the possible frost! We have very hot days and then we drop right back down to almost freezing!

  10. jstnotherday says:

    This is when the little children are needed to train in pulling the carrots for thinning.
    I always have a terrible time thinning. I hate to waste anything that God has grown. 🙂
    I gave up this year on trying to grow my tomato’s. It just isn’t the year for it. What is left from last year will feed the bees and the birds.
    Do take care with your back.
    Love and blessings,
    Lynn

  11. Anne-Marie says:

    Le jardin d’Eden à n’en pas douter !!!
    Bravos à vous deux pour si bien cultiver la terre à votre rythme!
    Amitiés, AM

  12. Marilyn Thysell says:

    Your gardening method looks like mine. Can’t bend knees. Still have lots of pain with the new knee and the other knee not long for this world. Yes, now my back is complaining . Lately, me body is never satisfied. 😀 A smaller garden this year, but have my favorites along with the herbs I use most often. But there isn’t anything better than fresh tomatoes and green peppers from your own garden. So John and I just plod along and do the best we can for our age. Enjoy the spring weather. Ours is hotter than it should be for the month of May. Today, Wednesday, is tobe 83F. Our whole state of Washington has been declared suffering from drought already. We had a very low snow-pack in the high Cascade Mountain Range. Now you and Janine be careful in the garden. Love. Marilyn

  13. Yes Michel you are so right , the naturally grown food is so much better! I am envious ,wish I could do that. We have so much sand that very little will grow in it. Your soil looks very good. Know that you and Janine will be happy with the results.

  14. It is nice that you both enjoy working in the garden. My husband is the gardener but we do mostly flower beds. He does plant tomatoes and green beans. I love green beans fresh from our garden cooked on the outside grill… a little olive oil, salt, and pepper… very good!

  15. Zakiah says:

    Always love seeing you doing your gardening. I too have problem bending my knees. There are some knee braces that people can wear and then they can bend the knees. They are gel kneeler pads. Here is a link for them that you can get and order from Amazon.
    http://www.knee-pain-explained.com/gel-knee-pads.html
    I too have a small garden going in the back yard. And because I cannot kneel, I have large troughs on bricks where I have planted tomatoes, aubergine, okra (lady fingers), beans, peas, radishes, cilantro, and other vegetables. I love the taste of home grown vegetables too.

  16. Janine is very courageous Glad she hasn’t just given up
    . I like trying to figure out what you are writing b/4 I read the English version. 😉
    I love gardens—fresh veggies and fruits. My daddy has a small one with tomatoes, okra, squash, rosemary, peppers, beans, cucumbers, etc. I will get to enjoy some of that this summer when I visit. woo hoo.

  17. julie essex says:

    It must be wonderful to eat the food that you grow. Just hope the weather gets better for growing as it has been so cold in recent days

  18. cuteandcurls says:

    When I read your blog tonight Michel, it reminded me of my parents as they both love to do their gardening together. I do hope Janine doesnt do her back in, that looks very strenuous for her 😦 and i hope you dont do your back in too Michel.

  19. vickyvix2 says:

    Very good use of time – must be a great feeling to see the rewards of your hard work!

  20. L. Gail says:

    The food is better grown by one’s own hand. I love the photos of you and Janine. I had been working on the painting of Janine in the garden when my Mother got sick and I’ve stayed with my parents for 10 days. I am home now but back and forth the 60 miles. I will get back to the painting very soon I hope.

  21. Murisopsis says:

    It is news to me about mounding the earth around the stems. I’ll have to remember it. We have planted a small garden – sugar snap peas and pole beans. We will have to check on them tomorrow as we have been gone a week and we are hoping they were watered!

  22. Tim says:

    I’ve always admired gardeners, but not enough to garden myself. I used to enjoy turning up the earth in the spring and preparing it for my wife to garden, but I didn’t like the work involved after that.

  23. marica0701 says:

    I’ll be missing out on the gardening activities this summer 😦 I already missed the planting of our seedlings, and I enjoy helping with that. I can’t wait for the time in my life when I can have my own large vegetable garden and labor in it 🙂

    Have a good week!

    – Marica

  24. Connie T says:

    .Your garden is big. I love growing food.

  25. weggieboy says:

    Perhaps you should set up raised beds for crops that require extensive thinning like carrots, beets, and greens do.

    You are right, though: No produce tastes as good as what you grow yourself!

  26. cjc22 says:

    Thank you, Michel, for putting your site address on my site. Now I can find you and read and keep up. I have read a long way back and enjoyed al of it.
    RYC: I went to the doctor this morning and the back is arthritis and spinal stenosis. For right now I have home exercise and light pain medication and continue the diet to lose more weight. Therapy and surgery will be a lost resort – hopefully not for a long time. The interesting thing is that I should not do any heavy work or strain my lower back. I will try, but house does need to be cleaned and things do need to be picked up.
    Hugs and smiles, Char

  27. kaiori says:

    J’ai appris beaucoup a propros des jardins! Quel joli jardin! J’ai hâte de voir les résultats 🙂

Leave a Reply

